DSi preorder-announced

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Toni Plutonij, Oct 3, 2008.

Oct 3, 2008

DSi preorder-announced by Toni Plutonij at 12:14 AM (4,208 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. Toni Plutonij
    OP

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    I don't think that anybody posted this..

    I just found out that Play-Asia will have DSi available for preorder, which means that we'll be able to import it very soon...

    The main question is, Will it be region locked?!

    Link: http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-49-en-70-3163.html
     


  2. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    Uhm...there have been to date no handhelds that have been region-locked, right?

    I presume the DSi would not suffer the same fate as consoles, like all other handhelds before it. But oh, is it going to be amusing if it has English and the other four languages on there already.

    Why can't they simultaneously launch these things?
     
  3. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I'm guessing it's gonna be LEGION ROCKED.
     
  4. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    What I want to know is can you select the language of the OS?
     
  5. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Games? Probably not.
    Downloadable content? Most likely region specific and bound to the DS via certificate ala Wiiware but probably will be hacked.
    Firmware updates? Most likely region locked.
     
  6. Toni Plutonij
    OP

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah, I have to agree with this...It'll probably play games without any problems, but all extra features will be locked (at least in the start)..
    And I have a bad feeling that firmware will be Japan-language-only..
     
  7. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't Play-Asia send it to anywhere? Maybe I'll buy one...
     
  8. Raven Darkheart

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    i can wait a year so i'll pass
     
  9. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    If I can sell some DS's by then I'll show it off to all of you!
     
  10. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm going to wait on pre-ordering, because I'd rather have all of the software in English.
    In fact, I'll probably even wait on getting one till an EU release, I can see myself using the web browser and downloads, sounds great.

    ...Just gonna dump this affiliate link, right here. >_>
    http://www.play-asia.com/SOap-23-83-zvy-71...49-en-84-k.html

    Actually, one thing has been really bugging me.
    They've mentioned a number of times it has internal storage, which will be used for storing pictures and downloads.
    How much? Maybe 512mb would be enough?
     
  11. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Good, tons of review sites will pounce on these things. Me? I can wait a year or so.
     
  12. Dwight

    Member Dwight Gawb. Gawb Bluth.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Washington State
    Country:
    United States
    Not going to consider preordering untill I find out if it's Region locked (doubtful) and if you can change the menu language.
     
  13. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Let me guess, no flashcarts. [​IMG]
    But I would import it. I don't think GameStop would notice if I traded it in for a English version [​IMG]

    Looks nice though, sweet...
     
  14. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Exactly.. you can't lock games.. that would screw up the compatibility with the DSL/DSi in a lot of games [​IMG]

    Downloadable content obviously, cause I doubt you will be able to access stores from other regions.. like the Wii store [​IMG]
     
  15. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    hmm...
    Camera function built-in (640x480)

    I thought it was 0.3mp.
     
  16. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its got 2 cameras
     
  17. jowan

    Member jowan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Medellin
    Country:
    Colombia
    one of the main questions is will our flashcarts work on the DSi?
     
  18. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    0.3mp is 640 by 480, or VGA.
    Actually multiply that, you get 307200.
     
  19. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    The internal camera is 0.3mp

    The external one is 3.0mp.
     
  20. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

Share This Page