Hacking DS Lite, which flash cart, inc. GBA support.

Dead1nside

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
XP
50
Country
Hi, sorry for yet another one of these threads. I'm getting a DS Lite and I've done quite a bit of research into the CycloDS and EZ Flash 3-in-1.

They CycloDS website is down though, and I'm not experienced in this scene at all. I was wondering if you can help me. I just want a flash cart that can run my backups and also run GBA backups (that's why I need the Slot 2 EZ Flash 3-1, right?). But I don't know who has the most active firmware development, or if there's a cheaper buy than the CycloDS.

Thanks so much in advance.

Also thinking about getting it from shoptemp.com, as they seem to have the cheapest GBP price for the Cyclo that I've found.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
9,086
Country
United States
You have three choices for carts that have proper support/updates.
[*]The original R4.
NOT "R4-III Upgrade", NOT "R4-SDHC", NOT "R4i", NOT "R4 Gold", NOT "R4 Red", NOT "R4 King"...
NOT ANYTHING ELSE WITH "R4" IN THE NAME! JUST "R4 Revolution".
  • Price: $6 from shoptemp.com
  • Advantages: Can use Wood R4, giving it compatibility with modern games.
  • Disadvantages: No DSi support, limited to memory cards 2GB and lower, no special features.
  • Rank: The cheap card for somebody that just wants to play some games on a DS/Lite.
[*]Acekard 2i
  • Price: $15 from shoptemp.com
  • Advantages: Can use AKAIO, giving it compatibility with modern games. Can update itself and cheats over wifi, supports the DSi/XL, and supports memory cards up to 32GB.
  • Disadvantages: Can't do any of the special stuff the DSTwo can.
  • Rank: Mid-range card for people that want to play lots of games on a DSi/XL with some extra features.
[*]Supercard DSTwo
  • Price: $35 from shoptemp.com
  • Advantages: Supports the DSi/XL, can update itself even if the DSi won't run it, supports memory cards up to 32GB, real-time save (save states), in-game guide (show text and images from walkthroughs without having to reset the game), "free cheat" which lets you modify memory while the game is running, GBA and SNES emulator, slow motion, and more.
  • Disadvantages: The onboard processor and such means it eats into your battery life a bit.
  • Rank: Pretty much the ultimate card right now.

Yes, you may have seen the Cyclo advertised a lot in the past, but it's more expensive than the DSTwo (which came out recently) for less features, and has had way less updates in the past few months.
 

Dead1nside

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
XP
50
Country
Thanks for the quick reply. Yeah, it seems the CycloDS is going out of vogue from my reading, and a lack of updates and their website going down doesn't give one much confidence.

So am I correct in saying that for GBA backups, the Acekard 2i needs something like the EZ Flash 3-in-1, whereas with the SupercardDSTwo, it doesn't because it can emulate to make up for the lack of a Slot 2 on newer models? Can one still use an EZ Flash 3-in-1 with the DSTwo on a NDS Lite to get hardware playback of GBA backups?
 

windwakr

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
502
Trophies
1
Website
windwakr.github.io
XP
1,771
Country
United States
Dead1nside said:
Thanks for the quick reply. Yeah, it seems the CycloDS is going out of vogue from my reading, and a lack of updates and their website going down doesn't give one much confidence.

So am I correct in saying that for GBA backups, the Acekard 2i needs something like the EZ Flash 3-in-1, whereas with the SupercardDSTwo, it doesn't because it can emulate to make up for the lack of a Slot 2 on newer models? Can one still use an EZ Flash 3-in-1 with the DSTwo on a NDS Lite to get hardware playback of GBA backups?

Yeah, you can use a 3in1 with the DS2, but I don't think it has built-in support(in the OS). You probably have to use gba exploader or gbaldr to send games to it.
 

shamiko_

~
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,757
Trophies
1
Age
27
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
308
Country
windwakr said:
Dead1nside said:
Thanks for the quick reply. Yeah, it seems the CycloDS is going out of vogue from my reading, and a lack of updates and their website going down doesn't give one much confidence.

So am I correct in saying that for GBA backups, the Acekard 2i needs something like the EZ Flash 3-in-1, whereas with the SupercardDSTwo, it doesn't because it can emulate to make up for the lack of a Slot 2 on newer models? Can one still use an EZ Flash 3-in-1 with the DSTwo on a NDS Lite to get hardware playback of GBA backups?

Yeah, you can use a 3in1 with the DS2, but I don't think it has built-in support(in the OS). You probably have to use gba exploader or gbaldr to send games to it.
then whats that thing when you go to system settings gba extend?
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,843
Country
Canada
The problem with the DSTWO, is it's GBA functionality, isn't 100%. Some games don't work, and some are buggy.

You'd probably be best to get an Acekard 2i for £10.17
Acekard 2i @ www.shoptemp.com

and bundle it with the EZ Flash for £13.93

EZ-3-in-1 @ www.shoptemp.com


That way, you're getting perfect gba compatibility for basically the same price as the DSTWO. And it's also a helluva lot cheaper than a CycloDS and EZ.
 

Dead1nside

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
XP
50
Country
ShadowSoldier said:
The problem with the DSTWO, is it's GBA functionality, isn't 100%. Some games don't work, and some are buggy.

You'd probably be best to get an Acekard 2i for £10.17
Acekard 2i @ www.shoptemp.com

and bundle it with the EZ Flash for £13.93

EZ-3-in-1 @ www.shoptemp.com


That way, you're getting perfect gba compatibility for basically the same price as the DSTWO. And it's also a helluva lot cheaper than a CycloDS and EZ.

I think that's what I'll do. I'm glad I came on here now, before I'd been on here I think I'd only heard all the great reports of the CycloDS and nothing counter to that.

Is there anything I should know about the Acekard to get the most out of it, or is it all on the wiki?

Thanks a lot to everyone who replied.
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,843
Country
Canada
It's probably all on the Wiki. Just install AKAIO and you're all set. No idea if you have MicroSD, but you'd need one of those [2 gigs is more than enough], and you'd just have to put GBAExploder on your MicroSD.
 

Dead1nside

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
XP
50
Country
ShadowSoldier said:
It's probably all on the Wiki. Just install AKAIO and you're all set. No idea if you have MicroSD, but you'd need one of those [2 gigs is more than enough], and you'd just have to put GBAExploder on your MicroSD.

Thanks. Yeah, I've just been reading the guide on the wiki. So is the only real advantage of having a CycloDS for GBA backups, is that you don't need to use GBAExploder? I saw a video on YouTube where a guy said something like that.

Cheers for the help. Acekard2i and EZ 3-in-1 ordered from shoptemp and I've got a 16GB microSD on the way from somewhere else too.
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,843
Country
Canada
I'm not sure. As far as I know, CycloDS you needed to have the 3-in-1. Only the iPlayer and DSTWO don't need it... there might be another card that doesn't but I'm not sure. But the iPlayer doesn't play DS games.
 

RoMee

??
Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
2,314
Trophies
0
Location
??
Website
Visit site
XP
181
Country
United States
ShadowSoldier said:
I'm not sure. As far as I know, CycloDS you needed to have the 3-in-1. Only the iPlayer and DSTWO don't need it... there might be another card that doesn't but I'm not sure. But the iPlayer doesn't play DS games.

EX4i
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,843
Country
Canada
RoMee said:
ShadowSoldier said:
I'm not sure. As far as I know, CycloDS you needed to have the 3-in-1. Only the iPlayer and DSTWO don't need it... there might be another card that doesn't but I'm not sure. But the iPlayer doesn't play DS games.

EX4i

That's the one, I knew I was forgetting something.
 

ShadowSoldier

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
9,382
Trophies
0
XP
3,843
Country
Canada
Schizoanalysis said:
I use M3 Real (well, actually M3i) + M3 GBA exp pack


I can recommend this. Sakura is great.

But M3 doesn't have the greatest support... that I can attest to. It's good, but it fails in comparison. That, and it also doesn't sell on ShopTemp...
 

Vulpes Abnocto

Not Dead Yet
Former Staff
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
6,723
Trophies
3
Age
43
XP
4,062
Country
United States
ShadowSoldier said:
Schizoanalysis said:
I use M3 Real (well, actually M3i) + M3 GBA exp pack


I can recommend this. Sakura is great.

But M3 doesn't have the greatest support... that I can attest to. It's good, but it fails in comparison. That, and it also doesn't sell on ShopTemp...


So he can't make money off of posting one of his referral codes.
happy.gif


The M3Real is an adequate flashcart, even if Shoptemp doesn't carry it.
Just be sure that if you get one, it's website is www.m3adapter.com Anything else is a fake.

http://www.m3adapter.com/News_Events.htm
 

SixtySixHundred

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
432
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Eternia!
XP
124
Country
Dter ic said:
windwakr said:
Dead1nside said:
Thanks for the quick reply. Yeah, it seems the CycloDS is going out of vogue from my reading, and a lack of updates and their website going down doesn't give one much confidence.

So am I correct in saying that for GBA backups, the Acekard 2i needs something like the EZ Flash 3-in-1, whereas with the SupercardDSTwo, it doesn't because it can emulate to make up for the lack of a Slot 2 on newer models? Can one still use an EZ Flash 3-in-1 with the DSTwo on a NDS Lite to get hardware playback of GBA backups?

Yeah, you can use a 3in1 with the DS2, but I don't think it has built-in support(in the OS). You probably have to use gba exploader or gbaldr to send games to it.
then whats that thing when you go to system settings gba extend?

That's for setting the 3in1 or whatever to be used as a rumble pack or memory expansion. It has nothing to do with loading GBA games.
 

Dead1nside

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
34
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
XP
50
Country
SixtySixHundred said:
That's for setting the 3in1 or whatever to be used as a rumble pack or memory expansion. It has nothing to do with loading GBA games.

That's what I was after. Really excited now. I just hope I don't regret only going for the China Registered Air Mail, with the wait time.
I'm getting the DS to tide me over until the Open Pandora console is released.

Thank you all for your help. Spent all day trawling these forums, really useful.
 

Schizoanalysis

From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2009
Messages
2,804
Trophies
1
Location
...
Website
Visit site
XP
1,204
Country
ShadowSoldier said:
Schizoanalysis said:
I use M3 Real (well, actually M3i) + M3 GBA exp pack


I can recommend this. Sakura is great.

But M3 doesn't have the greatest support... that I can attest to. It's good, but it fails in comparison. That, and it also doesn't sell on ShopTemp...

True. I also have an AK2i & SCDSTWO to play the newer games that don't work on it.

But, oddly enough, my M3 is still my card of choice, ie. it is my #1 card (with my 16GB microSD in it). I love Sakura, this is why. And you can't fault the GBA compatibility.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Bbl and/or good night
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Ok still here
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    goodnight
  • H @ HeroYthalo:
    Good Night
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Joyous occasion - I've finished two bottles of hot sauce over the past two days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is a new toilet in your shopping cart now?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I already have GI issues hot sauce doesn't make them any worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My gut thinks it's normal to poo 4/7 times of the week tbf
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob from all the poundings you getting from ancient boi
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is that why your guts been messed up also?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm still laughing bout when Veho ask other day how many people live in Michigan, and you said 1 white dude.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't remember what I did yesterday
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And that's why you backed up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I regret giving birth to you
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    BeSt turd you ever shit out
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Is that Metro any good?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I gave up after two chemo dogs jumped me
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    My favorite part about filing taxes is that I always either owe a disportionate amount of money or get literally pennies back.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    And I make under 30k a year.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just sit in jail
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    If it was a option just to go to jail for month as opposed to filing taxes I might be tempted, jail ain't that bad atleast in the us.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    You just go in for a month and come out with no fines or having to pay them anyway, I would be down.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://store.steampowered.com/app/2468610/The_Night_Shift/