ds lite does not fully work very well after case exhange

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by dashneo, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. dashneo
    OP

    Newcomer dashneo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    recently I have replaced my nintendo ds lite case with a translucent blue colored one because one hinge was broken and I needed to replace the touch screen anyways. so it took me and my friend a few hours to get the ds internals into the new case and the buttons fitting correctly. before I re-assembled it completely I held the battery on the contacts to see if it would work, and it didn't. what happens is the top screen flashes for a second and turns off if there is an acekard2 in it. if there is just a game boy advance game in it, it will boot the gba game but the top screen is just a bunch of white and colored lines. I finished assembling it and nothing changed, it still didn't work any better. I tried plugging in the charger and it DID charge the battery (idk if that matters or not).... I replaced the clear part of the ds bottom touch screen too...but it fits normally. I googled a bit about this problem too and all I could find were things saying that the fuse was busted but I know it has to work since gba games work on the top screen. can anyone help tell me what is wrong (please)?
     
  2. dashneo
    OP

    Newcomer dashneo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    ok if no one here knows anything about my problem does anyone know of a better place to go and ask?
     
  3. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like you fucked up somewhere.

    I think you broke it.
     
  4. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    well, for one thing I did write an extensive guide which can be found here on gbatemp that details you're exact problem

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=98240

    however, in the interest of saving you time, it sounds like you didn't re-insert the flexible cable for the top display in all of the way.


    edit:
    if after checking where the flexible cable is inserted into the connector, and all looks good, then there is a good possibility that you have ruined any number of leads in the flexible cable and will need to replace the upper display (along with having to unsolder and change out your existing speakers to move them to the new display).
     
  5. mobypr

    Newcomer mobypr Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    You might want to check the cables that connect the screens to the board. One of them may not be fully inserted in their socket.
     
  6. dashneo
    OP

    Newcomer dashneo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    yeah I did try that, I guess that means it's broken [​IMG] I did have to fiddle with it allot when trying to get it to go through the hole...thanks for all the replies btw
     
  7. jruschme

    Newcomer jruschme Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    The fact that the top screen flashes, but turns off immediately sounds like the connection to the BOTTOM screen is not inserted correctly.

    The lines on the top screen may mean that the top screen cable is also not inserted completely correctly, but I'd check after getting the bottom screen working.

    Don't panic! You probably just need to reseat one or both screen cables.

    John

    P.S. Testing with battery on the bare motherboard was the right thing to do. Just don't bother assembling, though, until everthing works and be sure to check the touchscreen, too.
     

Share This Page