DS FULLY YELLOW TOUCHSCREEN PLZ HELP

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Arya511, Mar 19, 2012.

Mar 19, 2012
  1. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    before i say anything i'll say hello..first of all when i search for ds yellow touchscreen it only brings something common and is normal for ds touchscreen to be a little yellow and i can't find ANYTHING ELSE!!
    well here is my story: we went on a vacation one week ago and i was playing my ds when we were at our hotel i was playing pokemon heartgold on my ttds. after a while the touchscreen turned yellow (it would change between normal and really yellow) and it was late night and i was in panic so i just prayed for my ds (since i broke my wii) that this won't break. the morning i woke up my ds was fixed 100% UNTIL NOW!! now this time it came back but....PERMANENT!! i tried blowing in my ds and doing nothing with it but it just won't work!! :( plz help.. my ds screen is fully yellow and this makes my ds unplayable.. i don't want to loose this little console... NOTE: my ds is ds lite and black and i have been working with it for 5 years and it had no problems up to now.
    maybe it just needs cleaning..idk
     


  2. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    sounds like a loose internal screen cable
     
  3. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    maybe....will it cost much to fix that?


     
  4. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    I'd replace the lower screen, 5 years is a lot considering the fragile DS Lite's nature
     
  5. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    if thats the problem i hope it doesn't cost much
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like the screen or ribbon cable from the screen is bad. It isn't expensive.

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/tft-lcd-replacement-module-for-nds-lite-lower-screen-3175

    LCD screen

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/cross-and-trigram-screw-drivers-2-piece-kit-for-nds-ndsl-and-wii-2905

    Screwdrivers to open it.

    If your touch screen was at all inaccurate, order the replacement resistive layer too:

    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/touch-screen-replacement-module-for-nds-lite-3245
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
  8. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    plz help...i need more comments
     
  9. xxteargodxx

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I would say your best bet is to find a local gaming shop in your area to repair it for you. And depending on the cost decide whether you want it repaired or if it costs as much as a new DS/3DS consider just saving for a new one.
     
  10. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    darn!!!! thats REALLY bad news if i have to give as much money as the actual console
     
  11. xxteargodxx

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I never said it will cost as much as a new console, what I'm saying is IF it costs nearly that much then in my opinion you are better off saving for a new DS/3DS.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    I'm about to say something that may seem intresting...well the screen is yellow but when it's about to load another screen (in game) it turns normal for a split second. or when i turn off the ds with going in the options and out from exiting th options it will turn normal for a split second before it turns off...weird...what do you think?
     
  13. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds like this GBA SP I was given to repair (I have no idea why they thought I could repair it; I have no experience in actually repairing electronic devices). Except in my case, it turns out their brother had spilled soda and lemonade all over it in revenge for some stupid thing but hadn't thought it would permanently break the thing.

    I only found this out after I opened it up and found the insides still actually damp. :(

    HOWEVER! This is probably not the problem in your case, as your case is with a DS, which could have other problems that attribute to the same symptoms.
     
  14. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Well yeah, it shouldn't do that.

    Still, it sounds like the screen is failing. Or the ribbon, who knows.

    Don't try to do this by yourself, you'll just screw up your DS. There are really small FRAGILE connectors, and the ribbon loves to get torn while you fit it in.

    Take it to a shop, but keep in mind to ask for the repair price first, some shops charge a lot for something like this.
     
  15. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    This is really true. I was asked to go help someone fit a special edition case onto their DS and when we got the DS together, it turns out the ribbon cord had tore almost completely in half and rendered the system unusable at the time. Thankfully google was around to help us avoid that the second time around.

    The shop down here charges more than the price they're selling used DSes at because they claim they have to fully refurbish them and then reflash them in case we broke them with R4s. They're probably in the back just messing around with stuff until they break it, then they grab the nearest DS that looks the same and hands that over instead. They don't have the best techs there.

    But that's just an extreme example.
     
  16. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Reflashing... a DS? What. (yeah sure there's FlashMe and stuff... but a DS is virtually unbrickable since later Lites)

    They don't even know what they're talking about :creep:
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Mhm because you totally don't have to short the SL1 to do anything XD

    OP, on the topic of taking it to a shop to have it repaired, I would ask them first what their cost to repair it would be. Afterwards, ask them what the cost would be if you provided the LCD and resistive layer (as in, what would it be in just labor, with parts pre-provided)
     
  18. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    No, they don't. Which is why when someone has a handheld problem, they come to me first and I help them for $5 or less instead of the $100+ they'd have to pay for a repair that might not even work because the problem was misdiagnosed. And all I do is google the problem and give the person the solution.

    I think this is why the people at that particular game shop hate my guts and refuse to hire me. Though, I see that as a bad thing, as I could probably earn them more than what they're getting from selling the few games they do while their services are being usurped by the gamestop in the next town over.

    Also, be warned that some shops don't do repairs with pre-provided parts.
     
  19. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Mmm, forgot to mention that possibility. In any event, it never hurts to ask. If they will, they probably don't openly advertise it, and I can see them charging out the ass for parts, then tacking on labor.
     
  20. Arya511
    OP

    Newcomer Arya511 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for your concern...i think it is a torn ribbon..i read somewhere that hot glue may fix this..anyways besides this, my ds touchscreen's touch responding is kinda awkward you know! :S it taps one place about one thousand times in one minute when i just hold it down on a place ._. I'm not going to change the touchscreen yet! because i've seen it costs like $40 so I think it's best left alone for now .-. darn! my ds is old like 5 years so i guess this should happen sometime...
     

Share This Page