ds....android?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by starfighter1, Jan 18, 2011.

Jan 18, 2011

ds....android? by starfighter1 at 8:26 PM (918 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. starfighter1
    OP

    Member starfighter1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    anywhere and everywhere
    Country:
    United States
    Just throwing it out there but would it be possible if we could fully exploit the dsi mode to lode the android os on it? in my opinion it would be pretty cool if we could. I probably sound like an idiot for saying this but oh well.
     
  2. kagutsuchi

    Newcomer kagutsuchi Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    The DSi, even if hacked and using the hardware fully, would not meet the minimum hardware requirements for Android.
     
  3. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would be interesting to see but I would have brought up the same issue; there's no way the DSi would be powerful enough to actually run it.
     
  4. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Idea is awesome, but probably not gonna work.
     
  5. Movi

    Newcomer Movi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Poland
    Android requires at least an ARM11 processor (DS/DSi has a ARM9+ARM7, so not enough) and 128MB of RAM. So no go.
     
  6. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Android on a ds.. the same as playing crisis on windows 95. The ram of the ds isn't large enough (round 4-32 mb... i thought, not sure) and android needs at least 128 mb. It would have been awesome though if there was a way to port android to ds.
     
  7. danweb

    Member danweb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    Australia
    it is a shame that it won't work. It would be more than awesome to have it on the ds
     

Share This Page