Hacking dragon quest viii

bboyjestr

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
78
Country
United States
just did the update for the sky3ds+ and to confirm it, pokemon sun and moon worked. Now when I put dragon quest viii (US) in, it doesn't show up in the cycle. Has anyone encountered this too?
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
3,881
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Japan
XP
2,376
Country
United States
sky3ds depends on legit carts, doesn't it? Is your copy a 1:1 or the undubbed and/or uncensored version? Proper version for your country/3ds?
 

bboyjestr

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
78
Country
United States
sky3ds depends on legit carts, doesn't it? Is your copy a 1:1 or the undubbed and/or uncensored version? Proper version for your country/3ds?

the rom is the retail version and my 3ds as well as the rom is US version. I just want to know if anyone that got this game to work on the sky3ds+ or is it just me that is downloading a bad rom.
 

Joshwraith

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
0
XP
260
Country
Mexico
I can played it fine with my sky3ds+, a bad file usually means a bad dump, modified version or a cia version converted to .3ds so you need a clean rom.
 

bboyjestr

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
78
Country
United States
I can played it fine with my sky3ds+, a bad file usually means a bad dump, modified version or a cia version converted to .3ds so you need a clean rom.

That's the thing, it doesn't say that its a .bad file, it just simply won't load
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
3,881
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Japan
XP
2,376
Country
United States
3DSZ118 - Dragon Quest VIII - Journey of the Cursed King (Usa).rar
Thats the file name i downloaded. Is your sky3ds+ on FAT32 or exFAT?

Right now, I'm on exFAT. Changed last night right before testing the unmodified dump (different file name than yours... from ISO place). Not sure it's required, but have you tried scrolling down a bit on the downloads page and grabbing the latest gamelist.bin? I had done that, and treated it just like a firmware upgrade (micro USB cable directly to Sky) and the .bin went away on its own. I was scratching my head with problems switching to exFAT at first, but then realized I was in Gateway mode instead of Luma :P

Hi, people, i'm new in 3ds gateway flashcart. some one can tell me a place where i can download this game in .3ds ?
1) This thread has nothing to do with Gateway.
2) You can be banned without warning simply for asking such a thing.
3) Google is your friend
 
Last edited by urherenow,

gilpones

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
47
Country
Brazil
Right now, I'm on exFAT. Changed last night right before testing the unmodified dump (different file name than yours... from ISO place). Not sure it's required, but have you tried scrolling down a bit on the downloads page and grabbing the latest gamelist.bin? I had done that, and treated it just like a firmware upgrade (micro USB cable directly to Sky) and the .bin went away on its own. I was scratching my head with problems switching to exFAT at first, but then realized I was in Gateway mode instead of Luma :P


1) This thread has nothing to do with Gateway.
2) You can be banned without warning simply for asking such a thing.
3) Google is your friend

ty, and sorry, dont will happen again.
 

bboyjestr

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
78
Country
United States
Right now, I'm on exFAT. Changed last night right before testing the unmodified dump (different file name than yours... from ISO place). Not sure it's required, but have you tried scrolling down a bit on the downloads page and grabbing the latest gamelist.bin? I had done that, and treated it just like a firmware upgrade (micro USB cable directly to Sky) and the .bin went away on its own. I was scratching my head with problems switching to exFAT at first, but then realized I was in Gateway mode instead of Luma :P

So, i went back into FAT32, trimmed the rom and like magic it appears....so i decided, with the trimmed rom that worked, revert back to exFAT and try to boot up the game and no dice...so my file works, just not with exFAT, not sure why nor do i care, but hopefully this thread helps someone out there in this world lol....thanks urherenow :grog:
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
3,881
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Japan
XP
2,376
Country
United States
So, i went back into FAT32, trimmed the rom and like magic it appears....so i decided, with the trimmed rom that worked, revert back to exFAT and try to boot up the game and no dice...so my file works, just not with exFAT, not sure why nor do i care, but hopefully this thread helps someone out there in this world lol....thanks urherenow :grog:
I was having trouble with exFAT as well, but like I said, my problem was really that I was trying to use it in Gateway mode. BUT, while figuring that out, among the other things I tried, I also used SDFormatter v4.0 to do a full(overwrite) format of the card, and selected the size adjustment option. If you just tried to change by formatting via Windows, you may want to try SDFormatter.
 

stylo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
277
Country
United States
i updated my Sky3DS+ in FAT32 mode, then formated my card to exFat and threw DQVIII on it. Didnt show up the first time but ejecting and reinserting the cartridge made it show up. Plays just fine using the suxxors release.
 
Last edited by stylo,

Asaki

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
275
Country
United States
I hate to be one of those people, but I highly recommend buying the game. It gives Enix more incentive to keep releasing games in the West, and if you don't want to keep it, you can sell it in a few years for $$$.

$_$

Flame me if you wish, I just hate always getting shafted because one of the greatest videogame series of all time doesn't sell that well outside of Japan.
 
Last edited by Asaki,
  • Like
Reactions: AyanamiRei

stylo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
277
Country
United States
I totally agree with you. If you like the game and intend on actually playing it, you should buy it.
I doubt I will ever actually play this game, but it's nice to know the Sky3DS team came through with an update to make these newer games work. I'm surprised I didn't see a news post about it. I happened to visit the forums and read about it there. Had to test it out. Nailed it.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Noice.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    3d porn ftw
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Aww yiss, I have to have that boner really sticking out of the screen for me to get off.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I always wanted to swordfight a virtual boner
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Beat Saber erotic
    sequel, Beat Boner.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Jds on that dev team
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    I've been playing Beat Boner since 1998, pretty sure it's a prequel.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    98? Get gud since 95
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Veho needs extra attachments for Beat boner at his age :tpi:
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    Get gud? i bet i can beat your Beat Boner score a
    ny day of the week :rofl2:
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    1v1 me bro no homo tho
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Extra point when dickslang mp3 pops up
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    lets doooooo iiiiit
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    no homo
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Sounds gay
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ken is right, at my age I need some prep time before I can beat my boner.
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    i'm out of the lube it came with though so i need to go to the nintendo section at best buy real quick
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Prep time and medication.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    At psis age you need all the big pharma dlc you can get
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    God i can't even imagine the microtransactions on that
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Well if you have no coverage you're fucked
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    mine is constantly like a brick though, i bet veho would have an easier time putting on the wii sleeve for the game
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Lol if Veho used the sleeve he wouldn't be where he's at today
    Gift
  • S @ Shape:
    :rofl2:classic.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    God ups is annoying with delivery city is literally 20 minutes away on the truck for 4 hours other peoples packages aren't important :angry:
    Gift
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: God ups is annoying with delivery city is literally 20 minutes away on the truck for 4 hours...