Dragon Quest IX freezing

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Haloman800, Jul 28, 2010.

Jul 28, 2010

Dragon Quest IX freezing by Haloman800 at 2:33 AM (3,065 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    I just got Dragon Quest IX, and I did the first battle with the cucumber and the two slimes, I beat them, then the game went to a black screen. Nothing happened so I restarted system, it didn't save so I had to start over, and it keeps freezing.

    What do I do? Does anybody know?


    Thanks very much.
     
  2. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Try a new dump or format your micro sd card.....
     
  3. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    That's not the problem. I think I need a patched version. I know better than to ask for a ROM so does anyone know where I can find the patcher?
     
  4. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    What cart are you using? With which firmware?
     
  5. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    what flashcard are you using?

    EDIT: Darn you were some sec faster than me GreatCrippler
     
  6. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    There are prepatched ones floating around but don't bother asking for them just use google.....
     
  7. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    @InuYasha, already looking for one, I think I might have found one but don't want to risk bricking.

    @GreatCrippler & CrimzonEyed, Acekard 2i with 4.1 akAIO
     
  8. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    if he is using latest R4 Wood he shouldn't use a patched rom, if DSTT the Xenom patched rom
     
  9. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    I assume you mean Akaio 1.4. Grab 1.7.1 from this site, and you can run the clean rom.
     
  10. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    Dang, not sure why I said 4.1, lol.

    I am running 1.7.1 .
     
  11. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    With the most recent loader? The initial launch of 1.7.1 neglected the DQIX fix. Try grabbing the newest loaders.
     
  12. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    I have to go with my mom to get groceries for like thirty minutes, I'll report back.

    I just downloaded a supposively patched rom, but please, post anything else like a patcher that will work if this doesn't
     
  13. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    FileTrip Download Link for AKAIO 1.7.1

    to be sure we have tried everything:
    *Make a backup of everything on your micro sd card, but not the firmware files and folders. (maybe your skins and cheat files if you want to keep them)
    *Format your micro sd card with "SD Formatter"
    *Format the Micro SD card with those settings:[​IMG]
    * After the format is done, put AKAIO 1.7.1 on your empty microSD Card
    *Put back your roms, homebrews, emulators and so on.
    * Test and see if it still freeze.
    * Report Back to us at the temp :=)
     
  14. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I'm on my Droid.

    The patched version is working so far, I just got past the part where it was freezing before. I will post back if I run into it again.

    Thank you all so much!

    And @CrimzonEyed, thank you so much for posting that. I had to format with that a few days ago to get 1.7.1. To work, I'll be sure to do it again if this freezes up on me again!
     
  15. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    np, I'm only tired like hell at the moment the after 6 liters of coca cola the caffeine is keeping my body awake. so I'm trying to help people to make the time flow.
     
  16. Moke_moke

    Newcomer Moke_moke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Since I don't want to make a new thread about DQ9...I'm freezing at the cutscene where Catarrhina is dead at Coffinwell...I'm using Wood R4 1.11 and I'm pretty sure I'm using a patched rom. before I patched the rom, I was freezing after the intro battle with the cucumber and the slimes.
     
  17. curenei

    Newcomer curenei Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    im having random freezes in xenom patch version..and in clean rom im having bug when i press x it hungs..

    im using akaio 1.7.1

    where can i get the latest akloader?
     
  18. curenei

    Newcomer curenei Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Philippines
    why we need a particular panasonic sd format..because i dont use this..what will happen if i use another formatter
     

Share This Page