Downgrading using ChickHEN

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Excellentnuke, Jul 5, 2009.

Jul 5, 2009
  1. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    I found out that CFW can be installed on PSP 2k and PSP 3k without a Pandora battery by using ChickHEN. Can this also be used to downgrade CFW? I want to go from 5.02 GEN-A to 5.00 M33-6.
     
  2. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You can downgrade to CFW IF your 2000 doesn't have a TA-088v3 motherboard. Use this to check. If it is a TA-088v3 don't downgrade. If it isn't you can use Hellcats Recovery Flasher and the 500.PBP file to downgrade the PSP to 5.00 M33-6. The 500.PBP files should be placed in the root of the memory stick and the Recovery Flasher application should be placed in the PSP\GAME\RECOVERY folder.
     
  3. BKZ

    Member BKZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually you can't flash CFW on the 3K's or else it will brick, but you can use CFE(custom firmware enabler) on the 3Ks to play back ups.
     
  4. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    So this can be done without a Pandora battery?
     
  5. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes it can be done without pandora although if you do not buy a Pandora battery you will have to be more careful not to brick while messing around with homebrew and stuff.
     
  6. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting an error when I try to re-flash. I choose 5.00 and get some sort of error.
     
  7. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's probably error 546033. Not eating popcorn whilst trying to flash the PSP.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  8. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    Never mind, just noticed you editted your post. So can anyone help me? It's a checksum error.
     
  9. raing3

    Member raing3 CNET_Richard

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah but it is only valid to people who have a TA-088v3 2k or a 3k. Which I asked in my first post. Although I'm not sure whether or not specialjerm is on 5.02 or 5.03, if he is on 5.02 GEN-A then he wouldn't need to use ChickHEN and also wouldn't have a TA-088v3. If he is on 5.03 he wouldn't be using 5.02 GEN and could possibly have a TA-088v3.

    If he has a TA-085v1 motherboard he can try and use PSP Tool to make a softmod Pandora battery and a MMS which will install 5.00 M33-4 where he can then upgrade to 5.00 M33-6.
     
  10. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I said it was valid, I didn't say anything about it being appropriate. But OP said CFW can be installed on a 2k and a 3k, but it can't. Whether he has a 2k or a 3k doesn't really have anything to do with BKZ's point, and he wasn't "suggesting" anything to the OP, he was merely pointing out the incorrect statement.
     
  11. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    ... I didn't know it formats my flash. If it actually does, I just lost HOURS of data...

    Nevermind, I thought flash was memory stick since it's commonly referred to as flash0...
     
  12. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    memorystick is NEVER referred to as flash0.
    memorystick is ms0. flash0 is one of the writable sections(flash) of the chips in your PSP, the one which contains most firmware components i think.
     
  13. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flash! - AH-ah - Saviour of the universe
    Flash! - AH-ah - He'll save ev'ry one of us


    Amd if you have a problem you'd do better if you can give details of exactly what you're doing and what problems you're encountering.
     
  14. Excellentnuke
    OP

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    I got it to work last night by simply downloading a new 5.00 EBOOT.
     

Share This Page