Donkey Kong Country Returns USB Loader "Insert Disc"???

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by scoobydude51, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. scoobydude51
    OP

    Newcomer scoobydude51 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    as i run Donkey Kong Country Returns NTSC game on USB Loader GX, i get this "Insert the Donkey Kong Country Returns Disc" screen. please i love this game! tell me what is going on!
     
  2. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Well, maybe you should just do what it says, and insert the disc.

    You can also check if you are up-to-date (latest cIOS, I recommend the latest d2x (v4 or v5 Beta1), and the latest version of GX). You can also try another loader, like CFG, for example. I would even recommend CFG, since GX isn't yet fully compatible with d2x.
     
  3. scoobydude51
    OP

    Newcomer scoobydude51 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    I don't even own the disc.

    i have USB Loader GX 2.0.

    and what is d2x?
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,395
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    d2x is an updated version of waninkoko cIOS rev21.

    Latest (r1084) USBloaderGX seems to have difficulty with d2x v4+ and some games like NSMB. It fall back to show the Antipiracy screen.
    We will look into this error.


    Edit:
    I played Donkey kong return (PAL) with d2x v5 and USBloaderGX r1084, I didn't encounter the "Please insert disc" message.
     
  5. blechner

    Newcomer blechner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    Sorry to bring back this issue but I had DKCR working fine on an old version of USB Loader GX. Then I updated GX to its latest version (2.3) because Kirby Return to Dream Land was crashing. But now I started to get this "insert disk" message in DKCR. By the way, Kirby works fine now. I am using a very old cIOS 249 (rev 10) because it is compatible with all the games I wanted to play so far and I prefer not to update cIOSs unless it is really necessary. The point is: if DKCR was working before, then I am assuming that the "insert disk" problem is not related to the cIOS, it must be something wrong with GX, right? So, if anyone knows how to fix this problem by changing some settings in GX, please reply. DKCR still works fine on my WiiFlow that runs on hermes' cIOS 222 but I really don't understand why it is not working on GX anymore. Any ideas?
    Thanks.
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Just insert a disc. Anyways, most likely DK worked before, because the old GX might have a patch for this insert disc error. But exactly this patch is the reason why Kirby didn't work.

    Now, if you install d2x v6 with base IOS56, you only need to worry if your HDD is supported. If yes, jackpot, everything will work. If not, you can still go back to cIOS rev 10. And the error about inserting a disc won't occur with the d2x cIOS.
     
  7. blechner

    Newcomer blechner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for your reply but I was hoping for a solution that did not involve instaling new cIOSs. When you said "just insert a disk", did you mean any disk? Anyway, I am one of those guys that are afraid of installing new things because it might break things that are working... so I think the safest thing to do now is to play DKCR with WiiFlow.... I would need a very strong reason to risk losing compatibility with games that already work, for instance, one good reason would be if Skyward Sword didn't work (fortunately, it works!). But thanks again!
     
  8. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Get CFG USB loader then.
     
  9. blechner

    Newcomer blechner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hey WiiPower, you seem to know a lot about this subject, so let me ask you....you told me to install d2x so that I won't get the insert disk error anymore in DK... I made some research and, from what I understood, I can install d2x base 56 in slot 248 so nothing will change to my current cIOS 249 rev 10, right? And I would only need to change the settings in GX to use 248 instead of 249, did I get it right? And, if for some reason I don't like d2x or if it turns out to be incompatible with my HDD, I won't even need to reinstall anything, I would just need to change the GX settings back to use 249. Please confirm this so I can give it a try :)
    I am happy to know that with d2x I will never need to worry about those troublesome alt dol games like Metroid Trilogy and some other problematic games like Prince of Persia Forgotten Sands.
    I am on 3.2U so I think I can skip the installation of cIOS 236 because my original IOS 36 allows me to install new things.
    Thanks!
     
  10. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thats correct blechner.
    If you install d2x in an empty slot, such as 248, it will not affect your current cIOS in any other slot. And just like you said you can switch between the cIOS's by changing it in your usb loader.
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Install IOS236 anyways, it not only allows to install anything, it also allows you to overwrite anything. And if you update to 4.3 somehow, it will still be there and reinstalling a cIOS will be easier.

    Installing d2x as IOS248 and setting GX to use it should work, yes.
     

Share This Page