Dolphin on the Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by osirisenigma, Sep 26, 2011.

Sep 26, 2011

Dolphin on the Wii? by osirisenigma at 3:57 AM (6,975 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. osirisenigma
    OP

    Newcomer osirisenigma Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Since no one has figured out how to run game cube games off of a usb drive with conventional usb loaders, is it possible to run a Game Cube emulator like Dolphin on the Wii? i dont know Wii code or anything. I know C++, Java and Visual Basics. I am not sure if this helps. If some one could point me in the right direction to code dolphin for the Wii i could take a crack at it.
     


  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    So run a Wii emulator on the Wii?

    Step 1: Turn on your Wii.

    Congratulations!
     
  3. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    He's talking about the GC aspect, not the Wii aspect -_-.
     
  4. insidexdeath

    Member insidexdeath .

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,045
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dolphin is also a Gamecube emulator.
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I know (it was a joke), but the concept still applies. Dolphin only lets you play games off a HDD because it isn't connected by "virtual" USB ports.

    My point is, there is nothing special about Dolphin running GC games. Even if you got it running on the Wii, you still couldn't play games from a HDD.
     
  6. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Still, instead of joking actually help the guy.
     
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    See my edit.
     
  8. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Even if you could get it to work, it would be completely unplayable, because the wii doesn't have enough power to emulate the GameCube. It struggles with just the N64, could you imagine the framerate for the gamecube?
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I remember a newbie on wiihacks asking if you could emulate PS3 games on the Wii, lol.
     
  10. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    I believe dolphin is developed/optimized to X86/X64 CPUs which include specific instructions set, S.O, etc.

    Also, GC mode on wii uses some sort of "virtualization" technology, much like the PSP uses POPS for PS1 games.

    So a port of dolphin to run on wii.. seems pointless. To me at least
     
  11. TheZoc

    Member TheZoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Country:
    Brazil
    The whole point of emulation is to "pretend" the code being read is ran on the actual hardware, converting from the "power pc machine code" (GC and Wii processors), to X86/X64 instruction set. This process is very intensive (that's why you need a very good computer, a lot faster than the actual video game hardware, to run an emulated game).

    Trying to make the Wii do that isn't possible. Ignoring the fact that, that would be redundant, like some people said, you would need a lot "stronger" hardware to do that.

    You will have a better chance to try to further develop DIOS-MIOS than trying to port Dolphin over Wii. If you ever managed to make Dolphin work, it would be VERY slow. ;/

    If you want further reading:
    #1
    #2
    #3
     
  12. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It still couldn't run GC games from a HDD. In Dolphin, the virtual USB ports are still shut off in GC mode.
     
  13. Wiimm

    Member Wiimm Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    That's a wrong view: The GC level needs no USB access, but the the emulator around. This are 2 different views of hardware.

    It like a C64/N64/NES/... emulator: The emulated system does not known anything about hard discs, but game loading from hd is possible.
     
  14. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would you run an iso through a virtual usb port on an emulator, that's insane. Using that logic, you wouldn't be able to use ANY emulator in conjunction with the USB storage because 'the original emulator didn't use USB ports'. Would a SNES emulator be unable to read a game from a USB drive just bacuse the SNES didn't have USB ports? Nope.
    If you code an emulator, you can read from the virtual storage device (in this case a virtual CDROM drive) any way that you want. The original question is about running a GC emulator in Wii mode, not loading a game in GC mode.
     
  15. Wiimm

    Member Wiimm Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    There is no need to translate/interpret the power pc instructions into an other instruction set, because the wii can execute is natively. For the emulator only system calls (only = much work) and hardware access must be rewritten. This concept is different from dios mios and other wii usb loaders and needs a new development.

    I don't know if it is possible, but the here written arguments against it (no usb, instruction emulation,...) are wrong.
     
  16. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Chile
    Dolphin is a emu, mine was about the X86 source against the PPC inst set, but I get your point. But we would have to rewrite a new system menu for it. [​IMG]

    or, it would turn into a dolphin iso loader lol
     
  17. osirisenigma
    OP

    Newcomer osirisenigma Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i read that game cube loading off the sd card is possible and with the sdhc update you could fit a few games on it. i will read more into this and try it. I would like to figure out some other way of loading gamecube games without using the disk drive. It would be alot more convenient. Some sort of virtual mounting might be useful but then again the usb ports are turned of in gc mode. TheZoc could be on to something with a cios/mios the allows for usb support in gc mode. i dont know if that is even possible but anything is possible.
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    A WODE is your best option. The HDD isn't connected through the USB ports, so you can play GC games with it.
     
  19. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Connect PC to TV > Boot GC game with Dolphin.
    No need for emulating a GC on your wii just for usb loading...
     
  20. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, how about the controller? Yes, there are adapters to be bought (erm, i think?) to connect GC pads to USB.
    But if you already have a Wii with real GC ports, its not very appealing to spend extra $$ on an adapter...

    Also, a Wii is "a bit" more mobile than a PC [​IMG]
     

Share This Page