Does Wood R4 flash the card?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Feels Good Man, Apr 16, 2010.

Apr 16, 2010
  1. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Reason im asking is because I tried it on my R4 RTS/SDHC and I think it's bricked. Each time I turn on the DS, it just shows a blank game. You can choose it, but it doesn't load anything

    [​IMG]

    I thought it was just a simple R4 kernel replacement but I guess I was wrong.

    I tried it on different DS's and tried my DSTT with the DS's to make sure the DS werent broken -- they weren't.
     
  2. ForteGospel

    Member ForteGospel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Country:
    United States
    they did said it was for R4 ORIGINAL... and that it may cause problems for clones...
     
  3. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so this thing broke ur r4, which is the awesome made by the m3 team, but the shitty r4's that use this don't get broke [​IMG]
     
  4. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Look on the bright side... now you can buy a real cart.
     
  5. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    probably got a fake killer in it [​IMG]
    u should really take what people say seriously, they say clones may have problems, then you dont use it on clones

    this could really mess up the R4 wood for clones if it is a fake killer code built in
     
  6. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    that cart was made by the m3 team, it is a real cart
     
  7. hunnymonster

    Member hunnymonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And have you tried putting back the original card software?
     
  8. laxman0220

    Member laxman0220 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i think that's pretty obvious
     
  9. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Should have waited for a proper port.
     
  10. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    And now it's real dead (anything with the R4 name brings bad luck with it). Time for a CycloDS, DSTWO, or Acekard.
     
  11. hunnymonster

    Member hunnymonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I thought so too, but there are hoards of people who wouldn't - plus you didn't actually say you did...
     
  12. Stropdasje

    Member Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then I must be the exception, I'm very pleased with my R4 (original) and had nothing but luck with it...
     
  13. canderousa

    Member canderousa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States


    Same here! I love mine
     
  14. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Lets say you could turn in your R4 for another flash cart, then you totally should.
     
  15. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    If I could trade my R4 for a better cart, I would do it in a heartbeat, but as it is, I've had absolutely no problems with it and I haven't seen a decent cart that someone is willing to fork over xD.
     
  16. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    I did try the original firmware and it didnt work.

    Any way of reversing this so it works again?
     
  17. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Bump.

    I won this R4 from this site btw at that summer competition
     
  18. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If there were, someone probably would've mentioned it.

    Your best bet is to just get an Acekard or something. Or pre-order a DSTWO from ShopTemp, if you don't mind paying a little more.
     

Share This Page