Does using flash carts have an impact on ds systems

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by googs, May 5, 2010.

  1. googs
    OP

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    well...im having a little trouble and i just wanted to know if using flash softwares and carts messes up your ds systems...cause ive been using my m3i0 for a while know and my dsi wont even detect it in the card slot...ive tried everything....replacing the memory card and i had my dsi checked and it was in good condition except for the l and r buttons... but my bro says its my m3...any advice?
     
  2. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Probably the m3. If a normal game works perfectly its your flashcard. If not your slot 1 is messed up.
     
  3. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Did you attempt using the paper trick? From what I know, the only way to brick the DS/DSi hardware would be to put on one of those wondrous bricking homebrew (there are like two I think) and other extreme mishaps. I doubt that just using a flashcart would do anything bad to the DS/DSi.
     
  4. googs
    OP

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried the paper and wood trick...both dont work...
    and i tried a normal game and it worked but when i put my m3 in my bros dsi...it works perfectly
     
  5. tKo HaXoR

    Member tKo HaXoR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    You probably need to update your DSi system to 1.4 or something. I'm not quite sure what is wrong.
     
  6. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    agree.. is your DSi using 1.4 firmware?
    if thats the case try flash your m3i0
     
  7. googs
    OP

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    my dsi firmware is 1.4 and but i think the problem is that it doesnt fastn in as it shoud... any ideas beside paper trick or wood?
     
  8. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You could try cleaning the contacts of both the card and the slot. Compressed air could do wonders for the slot and if nothing else, use alcohol (close to 100% if possible, meant for cleaning) to clean the contacts. You could possibly blow into the DS slot but that might not do anything useful.


    //Qtis
     
  9. googs
    OP

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    i tried that. i used 96% alcohol based cleaner but it wont work...are there any more tricks about fastning your flash cart?
     
  10. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, Wood trick? what is this wood trick? [​IMG]

    maybe when you re-flashed your M3 it failed? try to re-flash it.
     
  11. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my friend with some shitty r4 clone uses a really thin bit of wood instead of paper

    smart but stupid at the same time
     
  12. googs
    OP

    Member googs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    on a telephone pole
    Country:
    Canada
    umm...i fixed it...i put a tiny pice of tape where the chip is popping out from and it worked!...by the way the wood trick is when you stuff a a very thin piece of wood in with the cart....ps: dont do what i did....my m3 gets jammed when i try to take in out.... but what you should do is put tight tape on it for a few days without playing and peel it off slowly later
     
  13. tKo HaXoR

    Member tKo HaXoR GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    You can try a clarinet reed [​IMG]

    Just saying..

    [​IMG]
     
  14. coattails

    Member coattails GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    Tell your friend that Wood R4 doesn't work with clones [​IMG] . But seriously... wood? I can barely fit a piece of regular looseleaf in my slot along with a cart without it getting jammed, how the hell can you possibly put in a piece of wood???

    Using flash carts can only mess up a DS as badly as any regular cart would, unless you have a really poorly made flashcart that bends your slot-1 contacts. I guess with flash carts you run the risk of running a DS-bricker program disguised as a rom, but NDSTokyoTrim (great rom trimmer) checks roms for that anyways.

    Anyways, it's 100% certain that the only reason why the m3 would work for your brother and not for you is because of your slot1 contacts. They're probably slighttllyy bent in a way that they are missing the m3's contacts by a little. If you ever have the problem again I guess you could just keep wiggling the m3 till it recognizes it then tape it down.
     

Share This Page