Does the AP in Phantasy Star Zero really prevent rare drops?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by raylgo, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. raylgo
    OP

    Member raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Philippines
    Will the unpatched version never run or something? Because I have been playing for 30 something hours and all I have are crappy items... But the game runs fine and I dont remember if I patched this or not... (most likely not)
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Download a 'clean' version, check the Game ID. Then patch it and check the Game ID again.

    Now check the Game ID of the version you are playing. Does it match the patched or unpatched?
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yes the AP in PS0 will "reduce" your drops. You actually get the same number of drops, so many are just healing items (mono/di/tri mates and fluids) that you pretty much CANNOT collect them all.
    But with the AP bypass on, you'll find a fair number of healing items -- enough to help you through the levels, but you'll still have to buy from the shop if you're not careful -- and a significant increase in the drop frequency of weapons/armor.

    My suggestion is to make sure you have a clean game and use the AR code.
     
  4. raylgo
    OP

    Member raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Philippines
    Guess I'll have to learn how to use AR cheats... Any links as to where to start?
     
  5. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
  6. Demonbart

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could start here, it has a lot of cheats already in there.
    Or you can use a cheat code editor.

    EDIT: dang it, twiztidsinz, you beat me to the punch!
     
  7. raylgo
    OP

    Member raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Philippines
    If the game has been patched, does it still need the AP fix via AR cheat codes? And how do I check for the Game IDs? [​IMG]
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/forum/general-ha...ditor%27-r4cce/
     
  9. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    If you are using AKAIO 1.5.1 with an Acekard 2i then you shouldn't have a problem and can run a clean ROM right? I get a LOT of healing items and sometimes get rares so I wanted to make sure that was normal [​IMG].
     
  10. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    The AP dos not prevent (in a block you from get at all meaning) from getting rares, it's just that it is waaaaaaaay more difficult.
    I've played a lot with the unpatched game, and I still managed to get one red box weapon, two or three Hero somethings (for the armor slots) and some tech discs. Heck, it was on the unpatched rom I managed to find the Bakery! I've never found it again!
    Well, that's it, play with the patched one if you want Items (weapons, techs, armors) and the umpatched one if you want lots of 'mates and 'fluids.
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    To the best of my knowledge, only CycloDS works properly with an unpatched ROM.

    In addition to the lower drop rates of non-usable items, you cannot wifi with real card owners.
     
  12. lcleong

    Member lcleong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    Malaysia
    u are so wrong there dude! R4 1.18 also working perfect with clean rom!
     
  13. megawalk

    Member megawalk The Legendary SRW Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wait...did you say xenophobia text ?
    ....now you make me get my ds and check for screen 0_0

    ohmygod.... and i did play without xenophobia txt
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Basically, this is what happened...
    Xenophobia (XPA) released a bad ROM dump (partially trimmed/under dumped).
    Bahamut took XPA's release and fixed it.
    XPA released an AP patch with a readme falsely accusing of Bahamut crying and releasing a bad dump of the ROM.
    Bahamut took XPA's patch and re-released it for their fixed ROM.
    XPA cried some more.

    All you really need to know is:
    Byte for byte Fixed XPA PS0 = Regular Bahamut PS0.
    Byte for byte Patched XPA PS0 = Patched Bahamut PS0.
     
  15. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    I made a AR code that cracks the anti-piracy for the U version. just use it with a clean rom.
    Code:
    020C5464 E3A00000
    020C5468 E12FFF1E
    020C557C E3A00000
    020C5580 E12FFF1E
    020C590C E3A00000
    020C5910 E12FFF1E
    020C5A14 E3A00000
    020C5A18 E12FFF1E
    020C5EBC E3A00000
    020C5EC0 E12FFF1E
    020C5F7C E3A00000
    020C5F80 E12FFF1E
    020C603C E3A00000
    020C6040 E12FFF1E
    020C6114 E3A00000
    020C6118 E12FFF1E
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Elixir still hasn't added it to the CheatDB...
     

Share This Page