Does AnyRegion Changer work?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by m0p13p, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    I wanted to install the NTSC WAD's of Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask on my PAL vWii, but converting the WAD's with 'free the WADs' to a different region made the games really laggy. So, is it possible to use AnyRegion Changer to install and play these games? Or is there maybe another method which makes the NTSC WAD's normally playable on my PAL system?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Yeah, it's called buying the game. Damn pirates. :glare:
     
    n1ckn4m3 likes this.
  3. nukeboy95

    nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Member
    2,273
    1,086
    Aug 24, 2010
    United States
    not sure
    i wanna know soo i can PLAY MY REAL COPY OF taiko no tatsujin
     
  4. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    How about I already have the original games, and wanted to play the NTSC versions since they are much better versions, especially for speedrunning. Are you willing to help then ,instead of immediatly blaming me of piracy?
     
    CandraSoftware likes this.
  5. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member
    2,437
    933
    Sep 21, 2011
    United States
    1.048596β
    it could be the fact that Using NTSC Roms of a game you own the PAL version of is Piracy as you do not own or have the rights to use the NTSC one.

    also, there is no such thing as having extra lag by changing the region of the wad as thats all it does is change the region flags on it. all i could think of is that vWii refresh rate is 50Hz and not 60Hz. its a guess as i do not have a PAL Wii U and i am not sure how they react to NTSC games.
     
  6. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    Hmm, okay, that makes sense. If that is not allowed here, the thread can be closed.

    The lag problem I was talking about was indeed that the vWii is running the game at 50Hz instead of 60Hz. I have done some more searching on he internet and may have found a solution, though I;m still trying.

    -edit

    Allright, I have had no succes so far. I have converted the WADs but they kept running in 50Hz. So the solution I'm looking for is trying to get games to run in 60Hz on a PAL vWii. I guess this also kind off voids my original question...
     
  7. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice

    Member
    2,437
    933
    Sep 21, 2011
    United States
    1.048596β
    is your Wii U set to output 720p or 1080p? those both run at 60hz and should continue to do so on vWii, unless PAL Wii U's output 720p/1080p @ 50Hz that is.
     
  8. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    My Wii U output is set to 1080p yes, and outputs 60Hz and it still outputs 60Hz when I go to the vWii. But when I start a VC game, it automatically switches to 50Hz.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Play it with an emulator.
     
  10. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    If I wanted to play it on an emulator on pc, I would've done that already. But now i want to get this to work normally, as I don't like to let things left unsolvable :P I'm also still searching and trying, and will post if I have any succes.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    I didn't say on a PC, did I?
     
  12. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands

    No, that's true. Sorry I thought you implied that. Unfortunately, I have tried it with wii64, but the games didnt play as good as they should compared to the VC versions bacause of weird graphical bugs etc. And I'm trying to get these to work as VC games, not on an emulator.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    I still don't understand what is wrong with the PAL version. I've never played it, but it shouldn't be any different.
     
  14. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Devin is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    5,747
    2,202
    Aug 17, 2009
    United States
    The Nexus
    ^
    Glitches, and such that allow you to beat the game faster.
     
  15. m0p13p
    OP

    m0p13p Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    1
    Mar 10, 2013
    Netherlands
    Not only glitches, the NTSC version is also faster overal. The PAL version is about 5/6 of the speed of the NTSC. This is also noticeable in the framerate.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Ah, I didn't know there were fewer glitches in the PAL version. Anyway, I never use glitches for speed runs (or at all for that matter, I prefer not to cheat).
     
  17. FearItSelf23

    FearItSelf23 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    122
    12
    Feb 24, 2013
    United States
    PAL games also run slower even the music in PAL games run slower making it sound weird. At least from games that old newer games should be able to output 60 fps.
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    Just more proof that the US is better in every way. :P
     
  19. ground

    ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    909
    281
    Mar 22, 2007
    Netherlands
    cant u use prelaoder to enable the regionfree everything patch?
    nothing,

    thought i was in de wii section
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member
    10,974
    3,758
    Apr 2, 2011
    United States
    The Twilight Zone
    That would be a bad idea anyway. The region free patches have been known to cause stability issues with the System Menu. Oddly, not everybody experiences them though, so it may be different versions of the patch.