Do you really need a Windows XP CD to reformat the computer?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Link5084, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Cause it got hit with a big virus and I can't click on any programs and stuff and the only way is to format everything. I'm using a different computer right now. Cant you just format from the setup menu when you start the computer on?
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Only if you have a recovery partition that was made by whoever made your computer.
     
  3. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Use cmd to clear the WINDOWS file, or you can't uae that.

    Get another virus to wipe your hard drive. XD
     
  4. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Dell made it. Do you know if I can access it through the Recovery Menu at startup? Can you give me a tutorial on how to go from there?
     
  5. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    You're much better off clean installing from an actual XP disc. Recovery partitions just lead to problems.
     
  6. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    what urza said. the virus might have infected the recovery partition too
     
  7. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    On top of what Urza said, when you install using a Windows XP Cd, then you won't have all that crap Dell includes. Unfortunately, that includes the drivers for all of your stuff too [​IMG]
     
  8. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Which is why you generally include the driver files when burning the XP disc.
     
  9. jy2

    Newcomer jy2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Finding drivers isn't exactly difficult either. Just head off to your PC manufacturers site and type in the model number. Usually they'll have copies of all the drivers for download! [​IMG]
     
  10. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    But sometimes not for older hardware
     
  11. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    sometimes you cant even do that I lost my recovery partition to a virus so I formatted installed XP pro then I tried to get the drivers but couldn't because I didn't have my ethernet card driver. I had to go to the library to download it and save it on a thumb drive XD
     
  12. Noobix

    Member Noobix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's a Dell PC then you might be lucky...just press control + F11 on reboot to restore it! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page