1. Shippou5

    OP Shippou5 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Albania
    First of all hello!

    I remember trying out a DS emulator years ago and it played in a small window which could not be stratched out or full screen'd.

    I wondered if technology allows us mere mortals to play at a decent resolution~
     
  2. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Endless Trash
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,847
    Country:
    Poland
    Resizing the window actually isn't that great of an idea. You can play fullscreen if you want, but do keep in mind that the DS renders at 256x192... You'll be upscaling the image at least 5 times before it's full screen and at that point, even with filters it's going to look horrible.
     
  3. UltraHurricane

    UltraHurricane GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    and as far as i know there's absolutely no way to upscale the internal resolution, i'm i right?
     
  4. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Endless Trash
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,847
    Country:
    Poland
    To my knowledge, no, there isn't a way to upscale the internal resolution - it's fixed. Even if it wasn't, all the 2D elements would still be rendered at their native size anyways, causing graphical glitches.
     
    UltraHurricane likes this.
  5. lps

    lps man with no face
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    You can resize window on lastest bulds of DeSmuME
     
  6. Nebuleon

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Country:
    Canada
    To expand on this reply, it would be possible -- if you had lots of time to waste and the knowledge to do so -- to expand the polygons of 3D renders, which are vector-based. You would render the vectors of the triangles as new lines that are N times larger. You could even anti-alias them for greater effect.

    As for 2D stuff, as well as the inner textures of the 3D polygons above, you cannot generate detail that's not in the ROM; the best you could get would be something like hq4x for fullscreening at 1024x768. (hq5x for 1280x1024 with black borders, etc.)

    If you don't filter like that, the edges of your 3D polygons are well-defined and smooth but the inside texture is crap because it has DS-resolution detail.
     
  7. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    DS textures tend to look like crap anyways, what with the total lack of filtering. :(
     
  8. Nebuleon

    Nebuleon MAH BOI/GURL
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah... but hq4x can be applied there too ;) Once only, upon texture load. If you've ever seen one of those "let's play a Super Nintendo game at 1080p!" videos, you already know what kind of results that could bring.
     
  9. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,609
    Country:
    United States
    Did you ever notice that when you play Genesis/SNES/NeoGeo emulators on an actual DS, the characters will look hyper-detailed compared to regular DS games?
    They just don't focus so hard on detail when it was a game intended for a very small screen. So when you emulate a DS on your PC, it's naturally going to look kinda bad when made so much bigger.

    The best you can do right now is to find a filter that makes it more tolerable for you. Beyond that, there isn't much that can be done.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, screen,