Hacking Do I understand the boot process for CFW (i.e. rxTools, etc) ?

sofakng

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've downgraded my N3DS from 10.3 to 9.2 and installed EmuNAND9 and other things. Everything is working great but as an engineer I like to understand how things work so I have a couple of questions.

Do I understand the boot process correctly?

1) Power on 3DS.
2) 3DS will always boot to SysNAND.
3) MenuHax exploit will cause SD:\boot.3dsx to run.
3a) This executable is unsigned so how is it allowed to run?
4) boot.3dsx was replaced with CtrBootManager so it is the executable that will run.
5) CtrBootManager loads rxTools (SD:\rxTools\sys\code.bin)
6) rxTools will "reboot" the system into EmuNAND.

juniorcba

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
3a is explained by 3, is allowed to run by exploit!
5) it loads what you want to, xrtool included, because hax just happened

6) wrong, it will make your 3ds use emunand to boot system. It is lost when you reboot, and have to hax again (hold L if menuhax installed)
edit: Or will work as Urbanshadow said, I just say that because if you trigger the menuhax after rxtools reboot (into Pasta menu or into sysnand rx mode) the remaps must be lost, because it goes again the same route as before

Last edited by juniorcba,

Urbanshadow

Trophies
XP
Country
1) Power on 3DS.
2) 3DS will always boot to SysNAND.
3) MenuHax exploit will cause SD:\boot.3dsx to run.
3a) This executable is unsigned so how is it allowed to run?
4) boot.3dsx was replaced with CtrBootManager so it is the executable that will run.
5) CtrBootManager loads rxTools (SD:\rxTools\sys\code.bin)
6) rxTools will "reboot" the system into EmuNAND.

3a: as you say, MenuHax is an exploit which escalates unsigned user code execution.
4: CtrBootManager, as well as other 3dsx files are using one or another permission escalation to gain kernel level execution if the 3ds version is lower or equal than 9.2 (mainly libkhax)