Do I still require to put in the SD card?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mslugx, Dec 8, 2008.

Dec 8, 2008
  1. mslugx
    OP

    Newcomer mslugx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I read a lot of tutorials here, and would like to thank them for put in effort to complete guides for noobie like me. [​IMG] After I read a lot of walk through, I still have one question, Do I still need to put in the SD card next time I want to play a backup? Currently I am using my roommate's camera SD card, and i haven't started to put files in to downgrade my Wii yet. Can anybody shed me some light? Thank you very much.
     
  2. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    If you install a gamma channel then nope.
     
  3. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, you do not need the SD card in to run the backup games. IF you install a backup launcher channel that is. If you run the launcher straight from homebrew channel then of course you need the SD card in so homebrew can find the app.

    Understand? =)
     
  4. mslugx
    OP

    Newcomer mslugx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your reply. because my roommate won't have SD card to take pics for his Naked GF [​IMG]

    EmperorOfCanada: I tried to added you on msn , you never add me [​IMG]
     
  5. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Ha, I have the same problem. I also have to borrow someones camera as a sd card reader. [​IMG]

    Check out the app ftpii which lets you ftp files straight to the wii on to a sd card. [​IMG]
     
  6. mslugx
    OP

    Newcomer mslugx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    oh snap, that means i can transfer file to wii directly?
     
  7. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Yes run ftpii through the homebrew channel and then you can transfer anything to the sd card ..
     
  8. mslugx
    OP

    Newcomer mslugx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    thanks a lot ZEROF. I surely will test that one out.
     
  9. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    No problem. [​IMG]
     
  10. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    i would keep the card in there, if not it will get lost lol. check out some emus/roms they are nice to keep on a card.
     
  11. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    He's already said it's not his card.
     
  12. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    ah, i speed read lol its only 4am here lol
     
  13. mfpreach

    Newcomer mfpreach Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    People in this scene are such retards,
    Why don't you freaking try it before you post on here your stupid question.
     

Share This Page