Disc read error on all backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by selyb, Jan 2, 2009.

Jan 2, 2009

Disc read error on all backups by selyb at 9:56 PM (3,385 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. selyb
    OP

    Newcomer selyb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I know how to burn, I have a good burner and my discs are above par.

    I have tried several 0.3g versions but haven't tried softchip yet (trying to find a compiled r75)

    Is there some way for me to check the disc images?
    I did patch them with WiiBrickBlocker and it recognized them so I suppose the images are good.

    I used the cios installer that came with 0.3g (the one I downloaded anyway) and it updated with no errors so I suppose I'm using the correct cios
    when I load backup launcher, at the bottom, it shows cios 249

    so far, I have burned 11 backups, all of which show WORKING on the compatibility list but only 3 worked for me on 0.3b and seems the same for 0.3 gamma
     


  2. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    Verbatim DVD-R ftw. Also use imgburn and burn them at 2x, and then imgburn will verify the contents.

    Never had a bad burn yet.
     
  3. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    isn't a burning issue, and you don't need to patch the game in any way shape or form!
     
  4. kremmy

    Newcomer kremmy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    East coast USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know you said you've tried several 0.3g versions but just throwing it out there... I have to force ntsc on almost every game I play for some reason. Did you try that version out very thoroughly/have you tried forcing ntsc on the "bad" burns?
     
  5. ita54

    Newcomer ita54 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    I do it so!If you get a errors by installing custom ios with the cios installer you need install the IOS36-64-v1042.wad manualli (If wadmanager give a error by installing than install ciosfix.wad first)with wadmanager from wad folder and than you start the cios installer if it wont give errors your problem is OUT!
    Sorry for my english!I am an Italian guy in Germany from 1989!!
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, i have a bad day today, so you don't need to answer my question, it's very evil:
    May i ask which 3 games work with DVD+Rs without bitsetting?
     
  7. bigflause

    Newcomer bigflause Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Ireland
    do you use disk labels? I burned a load of verbatims and they verified fine but every single disk game me read errors during play. It turned out the lables where causing some issues when the disk was hot.

    burned and didn't use lables and they are fine now.
     
  8. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada

    i do NOT understand why people recommend burning @ 2X or 4X or anything so rediculously slow!! it doesnt matter!! unless your dvd burner is crap and 6 years old then OK this might help .

    i have NEVER had issues burning all my games @ 16X on any of my 3 dvd burners (liteon, LG, samsung).

    god dammit, im sorry im bitter but it pisses me off when people recommend burning @ a lower speed, if you have good media and any half assed burner you are FINE. and for those that buy crap media, cough up the extra 4 bucks and by the good stuff, as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for!
     
  9. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, burning at 16x on nero put up a fight with disk read errors. If I had to wait another 10 min for my games to have a better chance of working, I'd do it. That's how it is for me.

    I told him to use imgburn because he wanted something to check his disks, which imgburn does.
     
  10. Valgreen

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada
    you can verify you discs under nero as well..........

    imgburn is not the only app that does this
     
  11. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds like a bad cios installation, when installing the cios you MUST not have any usb devices pluged in including wiimote chargers!!! (i had major issues with cios installation when i had to downgrade from 3.4 and my problem was my charger i even formated having to back up all my saves witch if you've ever done you will know it's a complete ball ache to re-install them!!!!!!!!!)


    oh and also, no GC cards
     
  12. selyb
    OP

    Newcomer selyb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't have anything plugged into the wii at all except AC, AV, IR receiver, and SD
     
  13. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
  14. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    WiU1.1 for checking the images, it'll can tell you if the size is correct, the name, the ID, patch the .iso to any region and remove the update; are you in 3.3 or 3.4??
     
  15. selyb
    OP

    Newcomer selyb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    How do I tell?
     
  16. selyb
    OP

    Newcomer selyb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, that is what I used to remove update files from all of these games, it reported no problems
     
  17. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    seriuosly you don't know?? [​IMG] well go to Wii_settings/Configurations and then look on the right upper part of the screen:
    [​IMG]
     
  18. selyb
    OP

    Newcomer selyb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
  19. WhiteWingedKnigh

    Member WhiteWingedKnigh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Ummm.....
    Country:
    United States
    To be honest I've never had a failed burn, im using Maxell discs, the ones that have Yellow on top, and burning all my games at 4x, they are 2nd class discs tho according to digitalFAQ, but I've been using them for a while and to me i classify them as 1st class disks lol,
     
  20. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    check you PM or pick my face..!!
     

Share This Page