different options when using panasonic formatter?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by flapmio, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. flapmio
    OP

    Newcomer flapmio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Do we need to use any of the different options when formatting the sd card? E.g. Quick format, full format, size adjustment etc?

    Thanks

    I've seen another post where Catboy suggests this method of formatting:

    "You need to format your card with these settings
    FORMAT TYPE - FULL (OverWrite) : FORMAT SIZE ADJUSTMENT - ON."

    So will try this and see if it helps.

    p.s. Does it matter if the card has a volume name or not?
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,776
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The settings I suggested do matter. I have used it without those settings and did notice some slowdown. I am not sure about the full reason why it makes a difference, I just know it does.
     
  3. flapmio
    OP

    Newcomer flapmio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup, seems they do matter. When i formatted using the default settings i couldn't get past the loading screen, but now it's working perfectly! :yaynds:
     
  4. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Volume name is unimportant, by the way. I usually name the volume either describing the capacity, or name after what device I'm using it for.


    If you want a fancier volume name, or even an Acekard icon when it's plugged in to your computer, you can customize it using an autorun file and an icon -- see this thread:
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/213692-icons-for-your-microsd-cards/

    You might have to temporarily make sure protected operating system files and hidden files are visible in your Windows Explorer to edit the autorun file.

    Opening the autorun.inf manually with notepad should make it obvious where to change the name (the autorun file will be included in the archive with whatever icon you pick).

    Changes will not display until the next time you plug it in though.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,432
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The "Format Size Adjustment" setting never worked for me on all the cards I tested (SD or SDHC). The formatter says that my card in incompatible with this option.
     
  6. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    If you can somehow set an SDHC card (larger than 2GB) to FAT16 and format it incorrectly on purpose (it will only format as much as FAT16 can allocate, and I think that limit's around 2 GB), the format size adjustment may fix it to the appropriate filesystem. not certain -- but i thought i had read that is what that's for, some long time ago.
     
  7. flapmio
    OP

    Newcomer flapmio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I formatted a Sandisk 8GB SDHC card using the above settings and it's working fine?

    p.s. Side topic, the DSi XL is on v1.4.1. Should i update it v1.44 (e.g. to be able to play new games?) or does it not matter?
     
  8. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Cyan and I weren't telling you to do any different. I was just answering something Catboy didn't mention (Volume name doesn't matter, but you can use it to name the drive in Windows if you like.. or even assign an icon to it) and Cyan was pointing out one of the settings might be useless. However forcing an OverWrite format can help if you're experiencing problems (It certainly helped me once!)

    Updating your DSi XL will do only one thing aside from POSSIBLY block out your flash cart (I don't know what one you're using or if it's on the current firmware, as opposed to the kernel which is the source of the GUI [and the kernel is often mistakenly referred to as firmware on manufacturer/vendor sites])
    That one thing is provide access to the DSi Shop. If you don't buy DSi Ware, you should not bother if your Flashcart currently works.
    If you'd like to see the shop, or need to buy download the DSiWare to 3DS transfer utility, you should make sure your Flashcart's Firmware supports the current DSi System Firmware

    Edit: I realize that guide no longer (did it ever? :unsure:) shows DSi System Firmware in-line. But you can at least find links for most currently up-to-date flash carts via that list.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    my xl is running 1.4.1. there is no reason to update other than those mentioned above. if you are using a flash kit, you do not need to update for any 1 specific rom to be supported by the system. if you read the update history they never addressed any games (from what i recall), they were simply to add a few system menu options and mostly to block flash kits.

    -another world
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. flapmio
    OP

    Newcomer flapmio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not bothered with DSi ware, so thanks for putting my mind at ease.
     

Share This Page