Die Windows 8 Metro

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by yusuo, Sep 27, 2012.

Sep 27, 2012

Die Windows 8 Metro by yusuo at 10:37 PM (1,113 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So i've heard alot of good things about Windows 8 such as its alot quicker and lightweight but I've also heard one bad thing about Windows 8 that got me to delete the Beta off my PC in under 20 minutes and that bad thing is called Metro.

    It looks stupid and really doesnt fit a PC so my question is, is there anyway to make the PC look like a PC again and not a tablet (Desktop with a start menu) Now I know theres Start8 but that'll cost when it gets out of Beta plus ive tried Stardock products before and there always a little more ram hungry than they need to be.

    So anyone know of anything that brings back the PC to my PC
     
  2. 3bbb7

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    You can use the Desktop button on the metro menu.
    [​IMG]
    just hit the desktop button
     
  3. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes there is :) (but not for free)

    http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/features.asp


     
  4. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So basically both of you didn't read properly did you. I want a start menu and I dont want to use Start8 by Stardock.

    Do you 2 have any questions I can completely ignore and answer incorrectly
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. 3bbb7

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    "It looks stupid and really doesnt fit a PC so my question is, is there anyway to make the PC look like a PC again and not a tablet (Desktop with a start menu)"
    Desktop button
     
  6. kokiri_link

    Member kokiri_link GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well aren't you a lovely person? I'd be suprised if anyone bothers to help you now.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am a lovely person, i help many people on this forum and I appreciate any help im given, but what the point of replying when you dont even read the question
     
    2 people like this.
  8. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    I did read it properly.

    My point was to repeat a part of your question with hard facts:
    - Start8 is the only (payed) solution for now to bring back your Pc feeling when you really want to use Windows 8

    Else, just stick to Windows 7 or XP (or Linux)
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Star8 IS a Start Menu.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but there is no Start menu 3bbb7, not in the sense of what has been around for about 17 years now. Thats what im looking for a normal run of the mill start menu, not loads of tiny little squares that make no sense


     
    1 person likes this.
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    http://lee-soft.com/vistart/

    http://classicshell.sourceforge.net/
     
  12. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you very much Raulpica i'll give these a try. Much appreciated
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    You should thank Google ;) As that's what I used :P
     
  14. shoyrumaster11

    Member shoyrumaster11 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    With the Thunderjuggling Cugglecats!
    Country:
    Australia
    I know, everything is fine now but, I would still just keep Windows 7, Tried this so called "8" on a Virtual Machine and it doesn't like me!
     
  15. yusuo
    OP

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,196
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I prob will until it comes out legit and theres alot more options to get a traditional desktop
     
  16. shoyrumaster11

    Member shoyrumaster11 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    With the Thunderjuggling Cugglecats!
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah! I would upgrade to Windows 8 if there wasn't so many useless features and updates on it.
     
  17. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    If you really want to use Windows 8 only for its speed boosts, then you can just replace the explorer.exe with the one from Windows 7. You'll lose absolutely all of the Metro features (and a few things might not work properly), but it'll feel like a supercharged Windows 7.
     
  18. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    That sound farfetched and also the best way to get all the kinds of bugs. I'd just go with Start8 :P
     

Share This Page