Did I just screw up?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Jokiz, Dec 23, 2008.

Dec 23, 2008

Did I just screw up? by Jokiz at 7:33 PM (1,202 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Jokiz
    OP

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    I just ordered 3 R4DS flashcarts for my aunt. She plans to give them to her three children.
    Just after ordering, someone said I should have bought the Cyclo Evolution instead, and I'm unsure if I really screwed up or if it's okey.

    The children only want it to play DS games, and it probably won't be used for any homebrew. (though some would be fine)
    The other important thing is that it's easy to understand. Is the R4 easy to add games and homebrew to? And is the interface easy to use? If it isn't, then is there any skins I can add to make the menu simpler?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Green0scar

    Member Green0scar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    Canada
    R4 is easy to navigate throught, its just that its now a dead card, thay are not in production anymore, and it wont have updates too.

    and the ones you bought are probably fakes cards too.
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Use ysmenu on them instead of the normal firmware and you should be ok
     
  4. Jokiz
    OP

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    I don't think the cards are fake. It was called R4DS New Version, and it's from a site I've ordered from lots of times in the past.
    However, the "dead card" part is scary, if there are no more updates then future games probably won't work :S
     
  5. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    the r4 has been out of production for months
    you probably got a clone or a fake r4.
     
  6. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    New version is a clone, R4 team stopped making r4s long time ago. Anything with R4[insert bull here] is fake. includes, sdhc, III, etc.
     
  7. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    The cards are most likely fakes. The chances of getting a real one are 999999999:1

    And no, you should not have gotten Cyclo's. They are about $50 a pop, so maybe a little too expensive. I would have either recomended a DSTT or maybe an Acekard for gifts, mainly because they are both great carts, and the cheapest that I know of.
     
  8. Jokiz
    OP

    Member Jokiz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Norway
    And what would be the bad part about having a clone? :S
     
  9. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well nothing really, as long as you dont come back asking "How to run [insert game here]?" But maybe ask about which firmware to use and such. Since theres a bunch ofclone firmwares and you need to use the right one.
     
  10. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Never, never buy R4's (too late now), they cost may too much and they have no updates. Get a DSTT, cheaper and lots of updates.

    Also, fake R4 may brick your DS.
     

Share This Page