1. sj33

    OP sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,886
    Country:
    Japan
    It looks like dev mode activation is free at the moment. No telling how long this will last, but you don't even need an Xbox to activate dev mode so people may as well sign up while they can. Dev mode will be needed for UWP homebrew, and would be a one-off $19 payment otherwise.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/dev-mode-activation/9vwgnh0vbn60

    EDIT - Apparently you do still need to pay for a Partner account. Apologies.

    EDIT 2 - You can get a free Partner account at https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/rewards
    Thanks to Mazkarth for the information.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
  2. wiired24

    wiired24 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,058
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, that's great news! Hopefully it will stay that way
     
  3. F. Lobot

    F. Lobot GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    No, that's just the app to switch into Dev mode. To use it you still need a Partner account which costs $20
     
  4. Mazkarth

    Mazkarth Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    For free Dev account do a google search for developer microsoft rewards and the top link will take you to a page [obviously] that you sign in to and you can redeem for a Dev Account.

    I done this successfully just a week ago.

    [Unable to post direct links due to new account.]
     
  5. dominater01

    dominater01 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    United States
  6. hunterct

    hunterct Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    i cant click the button it just dissapears when click on "get code" please help
     
  7. natron

    natron Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    i cant click the button it just dissapears when click on "get code" please help yep I got the same problem anyone got a extra code they can pm?
     
  8. Mazkarth

    Mazkarth Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    I done it in Edge. I think I recall reading somewhere that Chrome doesn't work.
     
  9. sj33

    OP sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,886
    Country:
    Japan
    For what it’s worth, I did it in Firefox on my phone.
     
  10. natron

    natron Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Nope still nothing with firefox edge pc and mobile when u click the get code nothing appears if anyone has a code pm me

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    there is a 0/1 next to the offer so it might be unavailable
     
  11. 8BitWonder

    8BitWonder Small Homebrew Dev
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,105
    Country:
    United States
    Button is also disappearing for me when trying it in Firefox, Chrome and Edge.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  12. 0000ff

    0000ff Spase Peepole
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
  13. Ryan Warren

    Ryan Warren GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    so is there any other way to get a free dev account?
     
    jamespoo likes this.
  14. tirges

    tirges Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Belgium
  15. youreangod

    youreangod Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    says no codes ill just keep spamming it lol.
     
  16. BalzanaVnc

    BalzanaVnc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil
    Guys,

    I've been entering the rewards site the whole week, and since today's 5AM(here in Brazil) somethings changed at the Dev Center site(like the locker upon the reward image, and a different message when you click to redeem the code, as you can see in the images below).

    What do y'all think? That they will shutdown the offer for good or maybe they're preparing the site for a new round of redeem codes distribution ?

    locker.JPG Dev Reward.JPG
     
  17. dominater01

    dominater01 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    United States
    they might be just restocking there codes

    even tho there a big company they run out of codes pretty fast
     
  18. Jaspy

    Jaspy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States

    I'm having the same problem, oddly enough though, I get a different result when going on another browser. When I open Chrome and go to the link with my account, it gives me that, but if I go on Edge with the same exact account, then it says I have no available rewards. It's the same account. The hell is up with Microsoft's site?
     
  19. kingfrost

    kingfrost GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    It was telling me they were out of codes for a few days and then I tried randomly and it gave me one. That was last week though.
     
  20. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,172
    Country:
    United States
    Different sites do different things depending on the user agent of the browser.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Activation,