Dementium: The Ward (edit files)

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Cierpa, Jul 25, 2009.

Jul 25, 2009

Dementium: The Ward (edit files) by Cierpa at 5:58 AM (1,175 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

1. Cierpa
    OP

Newcomer Cierpa Member

Poland
    Hi there!

First of all I want to say "Hello everybody" because it's my first post in GBAtemp forum. I've heard that you are the best in romhacking DS in web. I have some experience in translating/hacking GBA/SNES/PSX roms. I never trying to hack NDS rom before. Basics I know well... But I want to do something harder than translate normal dialog in game. I searched all yours discussions about NDS ROM Hacking, meanwhile I doing some exercises with unpacking roms and learning .nds files.

Now I trying to translate fabulous game on DS: Dementium: The Ward, to my language of course [​IMG] . I am doing it well, but I stopped... Reason? I cant translate one thing...

Actually I want to change (if someone unpack game that he knows which file i am talking about) load.NCGR file. If you played the game, that you noticed text in header "Select a File" when you choose a save game.

[​IMG]

I want to change that text into: "Wybierz Plik" - that means in my language "Selact a File" [​IMG] [​IMG] . Here's example:

[​IMG]

I know that to see and edit files like: NCGR, I need CrystalTile 2.... Yeah but when I replace with my own screen [load.NCGR import to BMP/PNG -> Edit in Photoshop -> export to load.NCGR -> Save]
    the texts overlaps:

[​IMG]

And when I try to choose save game then:

[​IMG]

I figure out that when I delete spr-load files, then text disappears.

So... how to edit files correctly to obtain my dreamed text?

2. DrOctapu

Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

United States