DBI and Sigpatches???

Tumtum2814

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Ok im a switch hacking noob and i've done a bunch of searching but not finding anything thats helping. I'm on FW 16, i followed the homebrew guide, i have an unpatched switch and have hekate loaded (6.0.3), backed everything up, created a sysnand and emunand partition, dual booted switchroot.

I installed the DBI nro and have an xci i wanted to install. Setup the DBIbackend, DBI says it installed successfully except, what shows up on the switch homescreen is a blank square with the loading cirle. I can delete that software from software management but i cannot get it to load.

From searching, it seems it might have to do with sigpatches and i see the thread where i can download sigpatch tools, but i have no idea what they do, or why/how? And i also don't know if i need to bump everything to 17.0 to make it work or not.

Help?

kidkat210

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
1) if you're referring to the sigpatches thread here on gbatemp, they contain sig patches for firmware 1.x to 17.x so no you don't need to update. Unless the game itself requires firmware 17

2) sig patches (shortened from signature patches) allows you to install and/or play pirated/backup games

3) you don't need dbibackend. It's an option to use but you can use dbi's mtp feature to install games, backup saves and games, browse the sd, etc without the backend. But that's user preference. Just figured I would mention it

Tumtum2814

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
1) if you're referring to the sigpatches thread here on gbatemp, they contain sig patches for firmware 1.x to 17.x so no you don't need to update. Unless the game itself requires firmware 17

2) sig patches (shortened from signature patches) allows you to install and/or play pirated/backup games