ROM Hack RELEASE Dark Souls 60 FPS mod

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,670
Trophies
2
XP
7,718
Country
Poland
Mod unlocking 60 FPS and changing game speed to match 60 FPS output.
Ladder bug still occurs.

Recommended OC settings are:
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=1224
handheld_charging_gpu=768
handheld_charging_official_gpu=921
handheld_charging_mem=1600

Only big drops I found were when resting at the bonfire and there is showed fog for few seconds and cutscenes drops to 30 FPS.
It wasn't tested thoroughly, so in later stages it may has worse performance. At least in tutorial stage and first open world it was working well on 768 MHz.
I'm sharing cheat file to avoid some bugs.
If game will have too big drops in late stages, I will try to find how to adjust resolution. Configs files in romfs are not working and so far what we found in main resulted in glitched output (layers are not scaling properly).
Thanks to @Kirby567fan with tests and ~Sup from Discord

TID: 01004AB00A260800
BID: DF3766A2BB651A3E (1.0.3)
Code:
[60 FPS]
04000000 00706FA4 321E0FE1
04000000 00667904 BD483508
[30 FPS]
04000000 00706FA4 321F0FE1
04000000 00667904 BD46ED08

Instructions
Copy folder 01004AB00A260000 to sdcard folder:

atmosphere/contents (Atmosphere 0.10.1+)
or
atmosphere/titles (Atmosphere 0.9.4 or older)
or
reinx/titles
or
sxos/titles

And activate cheat
 

Attachments

  • DarkSouls-60FPShack-1.0.3.zip
    378 bytes · Views: 1,337
Last edited by masagrator,

Clapmaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
186
Trophies
0
XP
599
Country
United States
This is amazing! Thank you so much. I wonder why From Soft hasn't put Dark Souls 2 on the Switch. Seems like a perfect fit for the console. Easily 70 hours of content in that game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: venom19910

Sxerip

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
12
Country
United States
For some reason, the game is running at half the speed of 30fps when 60fps is enabled. The camera in-game seems like its working fine but everything is just running in slow motion.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,670
Trophies
2
XP
7,718
Country
Poland
For some reason, the game is running at half the speed of 30fps when 60fps is enabled. The camera in-game seems like its working fine but everything is just running in slow motion.
Then OC is not working for you.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you have used sys-clk Editor, then your config is now glitched, because sys-clk doesn't like non-ASCII characters, and Dark Souls has in title trademark sign, so Editor is adding trademark sign to config, sys-clk fricks out. Edit config and delete non-ASCII characters, restart Switch just in case.
 
Last edited by masagrator,

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,670
Trophies
2
XP
7,718
Country
Poland
Whats the ladder issue? Is it ever gonna be something fixable?

Also any luck the resolution mod?
Game is not detecting on time where you should go off the ladder, so you can go out of bounds. PC PtDE Has fan fix that forces you to go off the ladder if it detects you are close to end of ladder.

And I'm busy with other stuff. Didn't touch anything related to Dark Souls since release of this back.
 

Fritomaster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
101
XP
68
Country
Russia
"PC PtDE Has fan fix that forces you to go off the ladder if it detects you are close to end of ladder."
So it is possible to fix? Is what your saying?

I guess its not a big deal. I'd wanna play this online and that means no game edits anyways. Appreciate your work though man!
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,670
Trophies
2
XP
7,718
Country
Poland
Is there no need to change docked frequencies? Also thanks for the mod!
It is not considered to use it in docked profile at all.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you are using ReverseNX with handheld flag, use the same clocks for docked.
 

Metothic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
86
Country
Venezuela
It is not considered to use it in docked profile at all.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you are using ReverseNX with handheld flag, use the same clocks for docked.
Does this mean the mod won't work docked, or there is no need to modify frequencies? Sorry for misunderstanding. I'm using Atmosphere and Checkpoint.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,670
Trophies
2
XP
7,718
Country
Poland
It is not considered to use it in docked profile at all.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If you are using ReverseNX with handheld flag, use the same clocks for docked.
Docked mode has too high resolution to get even close to 60. It's just not pheasible even with max OC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Metothic

istovi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
53
Country
United States
How do I edit config to remove the special characters from the title? I don't see the option anywhere.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

How do I edit config to remove the special characters from the title? I don't see the option anywhere in sys-clk editor and other apps. Thanks.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/R5W924c.jpg