D2Pro9 With SMG

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Abeo, Aug 27, 2008.

Aug 27, 2008

D2Pro9 With SMG by Abeo at 4:52 PM (1,328 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Abeo
    OP

    Newcomer Abeo Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm sorry about posting this but I have looked around and not found a satisfactory answer.

    I have just installed my new Wii-Clip with D2Pro9 and original NTSC Games(its a USNTSC console) still work fine(so thats good!)

    I tried a PAL game and it recognised the game(showed a picture and things) I clicked start and the screen just went black and stayed black.

    I downloaded the latest utility disk and flashed the console, then put my NTSC Wii Sports back in, that still worked, tried the PAL game, same thing.

    Then I tried a copy of SMG that I downloaded. And it asks me to update.

    Should I do this or not? Will it cause problems?

    I don't know what to do please help!

    Thanks
     
  2. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Updating from a region not of your own comes with the risk of bricking or semi-bricking your console. Apply RegionFrii or Brickblocker to the game before palying it, or just play games from your own region...

    Gecko and Starfall, amongst other homebrew, can work around this though if you can downgrade to system menu 3.2 or below...

    Hope that helps...
     
  3. tatumanu

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    Dont update, it will brick your wii. Use Gecko OS to boot your super mario galaxy.
     
  4. Abeo
    OP

    Newcomer Abeo Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    I downloaded the ISO file from http://hbc.hackmii.com/download/ (THE USA VERSION)

    I burnt the DVD and put it in my Wii and it said error, eject the disc and turn the console off.

    Any ideas why that is?
     
  5. enigmaxp83

    Newcomer enigmaxp83 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    There's a possibility that the disc was not burned well. Have you tried reburning at a different speed (lower speed e.g. 4x). Trying different DVD Media may help as well.

    Updating as long as it's from your own region should be fine. But if you want to extra safe brickblock it first and like how everyone else recommended, change the region to nstc-usa

    Is your PAL disc original, or downloaded as well?
     
  6. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Burn slowly and on high quality DVD-R media....
     
  7. Abeo
    OP

    Newcomer Abeo Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    enigmaxp83, How do you brickblock a disk? I have heard people talk about it but can't see how to do it.
    How do you change the region to USA?

    The PAL disc I have is an original. And I burnt SMG and the Homebrew disc onto Memorex DVD+R at 8x

    Maybe I should get some DVD-R discs. Is it true that Verbatim work the best?
     
  8. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Verbatim seems to have a lot of praise, burn at 2x or 4x maybe on some DVD-R...

    download a program called BrickBlocker, and use that over your backups before burning them...
    It's a very easy to use program, only one button [​IMG]
     
  9. Abeo
    OP

    Newcomer Abeo Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    I tried using some various fixes on SMG using Trucha and then removing the update with Generic Wii Patcher and the using BrickBlocker and that didn't work.

    However at this point I had already ruined my SMG file [​IMG]

    So I tried it on Super Paper Mario that I have, JUST used BrickBlocker, then burned with ImgBurn onto my Memorex DVD+R DVDs at 4x.

    And it works! I have only played the first few minutes, but it seems fine.
    I'm downloading the only Super Mario Galaxy NTSC version I could find, and I will see if that works(it's slow though!) I will try this time JUST using the BrickBlocker. Is it safe to allow the update if I just use the BrickBlocker?

    Thanks for the tips so far!
     
  10. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    brickblocked blocks the udpate from running. so its impossible to get one...
    ONLY run updates from your own region...

    Seeing as you are NTSC-U and you're getting NTSC-U SMG, I think you won't need to run an update, but if you have to (only because you haven't updated online) then do it if you're sure the game and your wii are the same region...there cannot be a problem...

    Hope that helps
     
  11. Tsuchy

    Member Tsuchy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    "it recognised the game(showed a picture and things) I clicked start and the screen just went black and stayed black."

    I have this problem with my ds2pro9 wii i burnt a copy of SMG NTSC, i did the regionfrii thing and brickblocker burnt at 4x.. should i also use the Gecko OS?
     
  12. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    could be the media...I Get that sometimes with d2pro, which sucks, i found wiikey much more reliable
     

Share This Page