CycloDs Evolution Firmware 1.5 FINAL

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Tempbot, Nov 22, 2008.

Nov 22, 2008
  1. Tempbot
    OP

    Contributor Tempbot Tunnel Snakes rule

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CycloDs Evolution Firmware 1.5 FINAL
    Adds many new features such as batterysaver and enhanced GBA EZ-Flash connectivity.
    [​IMG]
    Team Cyclops, makers of the popular CycloDS Evolution flashcart have released a new firmware.

    Aside from small bug fixes and optimizations, the in-game text reader feature has been added, battery saver mode has been implemented, and GBA support (through the EZ-Flash 3 in 1 Expansion Pack or similar device) has been "dramatically improved".

    Full Changelog

    [​IMG] Download from Team Cyclops
    [​IMG] Visit the CycloDS website

    Contributed by Sir-Fritz
    Edited by Sinkhead
     


  2. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Now I wish I had a CycloDS...
     
  3. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Chrono Trigger is fixed I see....and many extras are added!!

    Great great firmware update....With every firmware update I'm more and more happy with my CycloDS!
     
  4. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow! It's finally out! =D
     
  5. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    No download link?
     
  6. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I forgot to include it. Here
     
  7. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    Good news [​IMG]
    Expect the same firmware for edge soon.
     
  8. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No we shouldnt.
     
  9. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does that mean you can play GBA and NES games without a slot 2 card? I cant really understand this point.
     
  10. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, Raika - Classical NES Series GBA games - it's GBA games, not as in NES games itself. NES games being ported into GBA games. So, yes, you still need Slot 2 device.
     
  11. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Oh i see...I think i'll upgrade from my R4 to the CycloDS because of the in-game text reader. [​IMG]
     
  12. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, good thing I refreshed first, I almost posted the same news.

    YAY! Now I can play that Star Wars game. I really thought they were gonna make us wait all weekend to give us the update on Monday or something, glad they didn't make us wait.
     
  13. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Nice update!
    I was just gonna update my CycloDS with the latest games and now this comes up [​IMG]
    Ideal!
     
  14. knoxvillz

    Member knoxvillz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what's the battery saver do? will it allow you play games longer without draining the battery life too much or is it just to consume less power when the ds is in sleep mode?
     
  15. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is what they said a couple of beta's ago when they first added the feature:

    We have added an EXPERIMENTAL battery saver mode which when enabled will allow
    you reduce battery consumption, resulting in longer play times in-between
    charges. The amount of additional play time varies depending on several factors
    including the LCD backlight brightness, the condition of your NDS battery, the
    game you are playing and your MicroSD card. The battery saver mode also will
    significantly extend the amount of time your NDS will last if left in sleep mode.
    For best results we suggest using a low LCD backlight setting - this should always
    be done if you are concerned about battery consumption!

    This feature is currently very experimental and we have been unable to thoroughly
    test it with as many games as we would like. Although unlikely, it has the
    potential to cause game compatibility issues. Due to these factors, at the current
    time the feature is only accessible via the config.xml file. To enable the
    experimental battery saver mode, please set the entry in the
    config.xml file to 1.


    Obviously, in 1.5F it is no longer experimental, but there is your explanation. As of 1.5b4 you can enable/disable it through the settings menu in the GUI and don't have to fiddle about in the xml file anymore. All I know is that I get roughly 3 more hours of playtime than I did without battery saver mode.....but I have a 2000mah battery in my DSL.
     
  16. Joey R.

    Banned Joey R. Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Oviedo, Asturias
    Country:
    Spain
    Nice, though I've been using the betas, so many of these features are not new to me [​IMG] But I guess it's worth updating just for the Chrono Trigger fix ^^
     
  17. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    So, besides both Chrono Trigger and Star Wars: Clone Wars now working, to revert back to another feature: Does Kingdom Hearts (GBA) play and save properly now with EZ-Flash 3-in-1 natively (no GBA ExpLoader)? Also, I just did my 500th post?!
     
  18. xanth

    Member xanth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Ah-mehr-ka
    Country:
    United States
    What exactly is the "in game text reader?"
     
  19. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Ability to read the text files while running a game in the back!

    Basically, yyou play a game, and then you're stuck somewhere, and don't know what to do, but you have a guide on your microSD card..So you bring up Cyclos in-game menu..Choose the text and read what to do next without exiting a game, when you're done, you get back to game!
     
  20. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    It allows you to place a .txt file (identically named as the ROM), and while playing, you can go to the in-game menu (Hold Y+X+B+A+L+R) and read the text should you need to refer to a quest, item list or whatever you put in. You can take GameFAQs guides and pop them in, or write or edit your own. I would highly recommend using LineBreaker beforehand to have the text fit, as it does not word wrap well at this time. From my experience, it is much better than SuperCard DS One's reader, except I don't believe you can color your guides (white background, black text).
     

Share This Page