Customized DS firmwares?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Searinox, Sep 17, 2008.

Sep 17, 2008

Customized DS firmwares? by Searinox at 8:21 PM (4,364 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    To the people who already have FlashMe on their DS it's much easier to update/modify the DS firmware... is it possible to customize the original firmware using some resource editors and then flash the DS with them?
     


  2. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    It's not a stupid question, I was wondering the same thing...

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  3. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    The firmware isn't that big, its just over 200 kilobytes big. Theres homebrew for the Nintendo DS that lets you dump the firmware.
     
  4. SkyintheSea

    Member SkyintheSea GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    America
    Country:
    United States
    PSP FTW anyone?
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You'd have to find out how to uncompress and recompress the firmware in order to be able to modify it. I'm sure the info is out there somewhere (hence why FWNITRO and CreeboMe came into being), but I don't know where you'd find it.

    For getting started with testing firmware modifications, it would be easier to use Loopy's "firmware.nds" file which can be freely decompiled with DSLazy, edited with a hex editor, and recompiled with DSLazy. I've dabbled in this briefly, changing some of the menu text for humor purposes, but I haven't done too much.
     
  6. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Wait one moment. You said there's software that lets you dump the DS firmware? Name please!
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    http://nds.cmamod.com/2007/01/24/dsbf_dump...irmware-dumper/
    http://www.cryptosystem.org/archives/2007/...ds-bios-dumper/

    One of those two should be able to get the firmware. Note that if you get your firmware and copy it to your no$gba folder with the name "firmware.bin" then no$gba will actually use it. Load up a DS game, then in the Options set it to boot the GBA logo first, and then reset the game. You'll see your name at the top and any individual settings you made on your DS. You can also get into Pictochat and the user settings screen if you have the BIOS files in the folder as well, named BIOSNDS7.ROM and BIOSNDS9.ROM.

    The firmware.nds file I referred to in my last post can be found at http://home.comcast.net/~olimar/DS/firmware.nds and will also launch just fine in no$gba.
     
  8. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Question: will I be able to modify the fw to bypass slot-1? It's no good use if you boot it up from the flashcart and it goes back in.
     
  9. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    FlashMe a decent firmware mod lets you bypass the Slot 1 and boot up straight into a Slot 2 card or game as well as removing the Health and Warning screen and other stuff.
     
  10. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I have FlashMe. The whole point of this is to make a modified firmware with custom background and stuff.
     
  11. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    That worked nice... pretty cool too.

    Question is how to create a firmware.nds out of these 2 bin files? Aint found anything with trusty old google... any links out there discussing it?

    Edit: From different programs, i have 3 files, firmware.bin (dont remember what it was before i renamed for the gba trick), BIOSNDS7.ROM, & BIOSNDS9.ROM
     
  12. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    So wait...If it is possible to change the text, and menu design on the DS. Why hasn't anyone made custom firmwares for it yet? I would love to have a custom background on my DS. Why doesn't anybody else? o.O
     
  13. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flashme has a long standing good track record and still I find people incredibly hesitant to do it.
    "made custom firmwares for it yet"
    There are three I know of DanTheManMS already took FWNITRO and CreeboMe but there was also a minimalist firmware (as in black screen, white text) made by loopy in the early days of flashme.

    Anyhow one firmware unpacker (no recompression/repacking but if you can do stuff like this (ASM hacks on an embedded firmware) then that should not be a problem):
    http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=12270
     
  14. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you can fit all of that into 256KB, feel free.
     
  15. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Does the firmware has to be 256KB? Can't it be bigger?
     
  16. pasc

    Member pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    blame nintendo not use...
     
  17. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Not use.... what??
     
  18. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    He meant to say,

    Blame Nintendo, not us*

    Lolz...can someone point me in the direction of where to download and view the custom firmwares?

    EDIT: Nevermind. Found it ^^

    I have an old ds with a broken touch screen. I've never flashed/had a flashed DS before. So that broken DS will be a test.
     
  19. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    wow i love the idea but how do we put it back into our ds???
     
  20. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Why don't we try to make custom flashcart FW instead of DS FW?
    Then we don't have size limit and have full access to MicroSD memory.

    I think the DS FW is fine now ,as we don't see it much. Mostly it went directly to flashcart FW.
     

Share This Page