Hacking Question Could not start the software. Please try again from the HOME Menu.

Enlapse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
263
Trophies
0
XP
729
Country
Hello there!

Here is my current details:
CFW emuMMC.10.0.2 (at the start, but updated it to 10.0.4 a while later).
Atmosphere: 0.13.0
Sigpatches: These ones
Installed using: Goldleaf 0.8 and Quark 0.3
SD: 64GB Sandisk

Today I tried to install Paper Mario: The Origami King, and after installing it the first time, I tried to run it inmediately after, but I got this error: "Could not start the software. Please try again from the HOME Menu.". Since I was using CFW10.0.2 (instead of 10.0.4), I updated to it and tried to run it again, but the same error was shown again. So, I thought I should reinstall from the same NSP and give it a try, so after do it, the same error was shown.
Then, I made a research and a possible cause could have been sigpatches (even thought I updated Atmosphere to 0.13.0 and the sigpatches about two weeks ago), but I updated the sigpatches again just in case, then ran the game again, and the same error was shown. So, after that, I decided to download again the NSP from a different source and try to install again. After that, the same error was shown, again.

So, after updating from 10.0.2 to 10.0.4, using Atmosphere 0.13.0 with latest sigpatches and many reinstalls, everything ended the same.

The problem here is that I installed Catherine: Full Body just about two weeks ago and it worked correctly, and shortly before, both Bayonetta 2 and Death Come True, and everything worked perfectly, and I can still play them today without problems, so the only problem is this Paper Mario: The origami king game.

Any ideas?

Just in case, until recently, I used Kosmos, but replaced the atmosphere folder with the official one and updated hekate from the hekate repository and not from sdsetup. That might be the problem? But still, this was before installing Catherine, Bayonetta 2 or Death come true.
 
Last edited by Enlapse,

ricdee

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
278
Country
United States
I've seen a few people reporting this same issue with Oragami king and I haven't seen any solutions as yet. Have you got a spare SD card that you can set up a clean version of the latest atmosphere on? I have the same set up as you (10.0.4 and 0.13.0) and it works for me. I installed by usb with tinfoil and nut.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Enlapse

ricdee

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
54
XP
278
Country
United States
Latest sig patches and fusee primary. There is a website where you can build your version of atmosphere to your liking and then just copy all the files to your SD
 
  • Like
Reactions: Enlapse

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,995
Trophies
2
XP
16,009
Country
United States
  1. Make sure the SD card is FAT32.
  2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
  3. Download the latest Atmosphere
  4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  5. Download these signature patches (for Atmosphere v0.13.0)
  6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  7. Put the SD into your Switch
  8. Enter RCM
  9. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary
 

Enlapse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
263
Trophies
0
XP
729
Country
I've seen a few people reporting this same issue with Oragami king and I haven't seen any solutions as yet. Have you got a spare SD card that you can set up a clean version of the latest atmosphere on? I have the same set up as you (10.0.4 and 0.13.0) and it works for me. I installed by usb with tinfoil and nut.

I do have one, but with half the size of this one. I will try a clean install of everything and see if that does it.

Which signature patches?
Which bootloader?

I am sorry, I forgot to add the link in the first post. These ones are the ones I am referring (and updated first post with this link too):
https://gbatemp.net/threads/sigpatches-for-atmosphere-0-13-0.567542/
Oh, and I am using Hekate (this release: https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases/tag/v5.3.0 ).

  1. Make sure the SD card is FAT32.
  2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
  3. Download the latest Atmosphere
  4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  5. Download these signature patches (for Atmosphere v0.13.0)
  6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  7. Put the SD into your Switch
  8. Enter RCM
  9. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary

Okay, I think I will need to reformat my SD because I think it's exFAT. I will try all of these steps.

Push fusee-primary payload instead of hekate


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Okay, I will give it a try too.

Thank you very much!
 

Enlapse

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
263
Trophies
0
XP
729
Country
  1. Make sure the SD card is FAT32.
  2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
  3. Download the latest Atmosphere
  4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  5. Download these signature patches (for Atmosphere v0.13.0)
  6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  7. Put the SD into your Switch
  8. Enter RCM
  9. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary

First of all, sorry for double post, but I am not sure if you'd get notified if I just edited the last post.

That did the trick, but how I am supposed to go to CFW OFW if after pushing fusee-primary I go directly to emuMMC? (And yeah, I want to go to OFW with CFW to prevent losing AutoRCM after updating).

Thank you very much anyways!
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,995
Trophies
2
XP
16,009
Country
United States
First of all, sorry for double post, but I am not sure if you'd get notified if I just edited the last post.

That did the trick, but how I am supposed to go to CFW OFW if after pushing fusee-primary I go directly to emuMMC? (And yeah, I want to go to OFW with CFW to prevent losing AutoRCM after updating).

Thank you very much anyways!
Edit emummc/emummc.ini to disable emuNAND temporarily.
 

wiremajik

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
94
Country
Canada
  1. Make sure the SD card is FAT32.
  2. Remove all CFW files/folders from your SD card (that would be folders like /sept/ and /atmosphere/)
  3. Download the latest Atmosphere
  4. Download the latest fusee-primary (next to Atmosphere)
  5. Download these signature patches (for Atmosphere v0.13.0)
  6. Put Atmosphere and the signature patches onto your SD card
  7. Put the SD into your Switch
  8. Enter RCM
  9. Launch Atmosphere using fusee-primary

did all of this, still cant start software. all other software runs fine including ACNH 1.3.0. i think im going to reformat my sd card and reinstall emmummc.... anyone point me in the best guide to start over. ive used fss0 in the past but i know the sig patches arent up to date for that. will this work?
https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/emummc/sd_preparation/
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,995
Trophies
2
XP
16,009
Country
United States
did all of this, still cant start software. all other software runs fine including ACNH 1.3.0. i think im going to reformat my sd card and reinstall emmummc.... anyone point me in the best guide to start over. ive used fss0 in the past but i know the sig patches arent up to date for that. will this work?
https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/emummc/sd_preparation/
My steps above should solve most problems. If all of your other games work, it could be a bad game dump. Unfortunately, you did not provide a lot of details.
 

wiremajik

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
94
Country
Canada
My steps above should solve most problems. If all of your other games work, it could be a bad game dump. Unfortunately, you did not provide a lot of details.

im on 10.0.4 fw atmosphere 0.13 it may be a bad dump. could it possibly need new keys? maybe ill wait a week for a new dump and i heard new atmosphere is coming soon.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,995
Trophies
2
XP
16,009
Country
United States
im on 10.0.4 fw atmosphere 0.13 it may be a bad dump. could it possibly need new keys? maybe ill wait a week for a new dump and i heard new atmosphere is coming soon.
If you're on the latest system version (10.1.0 as of this post), you don't have to worry about keys.
 

wiremajik

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
94
Country
Canada
If you're on the latest system version (10.1.0 as of this post), you don't have to worry about keys.

so i can safely update to 10.1 from the nsp? i dont see a firmware dump of 10.1 anywhere else for me to use choidujour to upgrade.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

so i can safely update to 10.1 from the nsp? i dont see a firmware dump of 10.1 anywhere else for me to use choidujour to upgrade.

so i just updated lockpick, dumped new keys from 10.0.0.4 , rebooted reinstalled paper mario, then updated to 10.1, rebooted. paper mario now works :rofl2:. for some reason tetris stopped working, im sure it just needs a reinstall.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,995
Trophies
2
XP
16,009
Country
United States
so i can safely update to 10.1 from the nsp? i dont see a firmware dump of 10.1 anywhere else for me to use choidujour to upgrade.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



so i just updated lockpick, dumped new keys from 10.0.0.4 , rebooted reinstalled paper mario, then updated to 10.1, rebooted. paper mario now works :rofl2:. for some reason tetris stopped working, im sure it just needs a reinstall.
It sounds like you could have a problem with your signature patches. Are you sure you followed my steps exactly?
 

wiremajik

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
94
Country
Canada
It sounds like you could have a problem with your signature patches. Are you sure you followed my steps exactly?

i have followed exactly. i got what i want running so for now ill leave it as is. should redo everything on the sdcard soon though. maybe next week ;)
 

Roman_Raida

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 2, 2020
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
144
Country
Czech Republic
This deletes pending Switch updates and cache, often resolving issues: Boot into maintenance mode by holding vol+ and vol- while turning on your Switch (or injecting fusee-primary). After you boot into the maintenance mode menu, touch nothing, and restart your Switch.
 

baretbh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
261
Trophies
0
Location
BC, Mexico
XP
307
Country
Mexico
This deletes pending Switch updates and cache, often resolving issues: Boot into maintenance mode by holding vol+ and vol- while turning on your Switch (or injecting fusee-primary). After you boot into the maintenance mode menu, touch nothing, and restart your Switch.
This is the only thing that fixed BOTW for me after updating. Ty soo much!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: i install gentoo for fun