Hacking Question Could CPU Exploits Meltdown and Spectre potentially affect Nintendo Switch?

Enryx25

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2016
Messages
703
Trophies
0
XP
1,732
Country
Italy
I mean, Nintendo Switch has a Nvidia Tegra X1 that uses an ARM-based CPU.

This isn't a troll post.
 
Last edited by Enryx25,

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,952
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,137
Country
United States
those exploits allow you to read protected memory from a lower privilege level, so you can use it to read keys, passwords, other private data that could be in memory on your computer, but you can't use it to edit that data. The guys at the 34c3 talk said they already have access to read all memory, (and write)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alkéryn

Resaec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
409
Trophies
0
XP
885
Country
Germany
Why should keys be the only thing interesting?
You can completely blow up KASLR/ASLR, making old school rop and other exploits possible which need knowlege of the addresses/layout in memory...
Only talking about keys (which by the way are processed way too early here) is way to short-sighted
 

ken28

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
1,181
Trophies
1
XP
1,693
Country
Germany
the bigger question is if its usefull for ps4/xbone since they are basicly just pc hardware wise and due this almost sure to be affected by it.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,575
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,999
Country
Antarctica
the bigger question is if its usefull for ps4/xbone since they are basicly just pc hardware wise and due this almost sure to be affected by it.

Custom AMD Jaguar CPU's.

AMD's CPU's aren't affected as much as Intel's.
 

Resaec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
409
Trophies
0
XP
885
Country
Germany
the bigger question is if its usefull for ps4/xbone since they are basicly just pc hardware wise and due this almost sure to be affected by it.
As they should at least use hardware newer than 8y they should be affected. PClite users should not update, too as there are patches for windows and ofc linux/bsd.
 

Resaec

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2017
Messages
409
Trophies
0
XP
885
Country
Germany
AMD is immune to meltdown, spectre is possible in at least 1 variation (stated when there were only 3, might be 2 now)
 

andijames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
428
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Manchester
XP
759
Country
United Kingdom
Spectre is possible on practically most CPUs in circulation right now but it takes time and a very specific attack vector. Its based on speculative execution (i.e. OOO execution) and takes time to initiate and execute. Its vulnerable but to what level no one knows. Its certainly not a boot hack that's for sure due to how it's executed
 

guily6669

GbaTemp is my Drug
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2013
Messages
2,368
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Doomed Island
XP
2,182
Country
United States
I wish it made every console hacked, but I bet since they are a very locked environment won't be very easy, on PC hardware it's a unlocked device, so it can lead to major exploit hacks very easily.

WiFi have also a big flaw that can make a hacker to have full access of a device, which is pretty bad for smartphones.

I wonder when they will ever find a big hardware flaw in the hardware and fix it via software and make us have twice the actual theoretical chip performance, yeah right... :)
 

Kubas_inko

"Something funny goes here."
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
6,324
Trophies
1
Age
24
Location
I gues on earth.
XP
5,227
Country
Czech Republic
Why should keys be the only thing interesting?
You can completely blow up KASLR/ASLR, making old school rop and other exploits possible which need knowlege of the addresses/layout in memory...
Only talking about keys (which by the way are processed way too early here) is way to short-sighted
Because with keys, you can decrypt anything. :P
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: But the captions are in english, I only speak Ebonics