Homebrew Converted DPG movie looks fine but no sound

mattymattness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am new to this scene. I have recently been trying to get some movies ready for my DS. I can make a .dpg movie just fine from an .avi with the latest version of BatchDPG. The problem is that the movie looks fine when I test it but, has no sound. The original .avi has sound before conversion.

I have AviSynth and K-Lite codecs installed. I'm not sure what the problem is.

I also tried to convert the video with SUPER and it actually worked with sound but, the sync was off and I didn't like the video quality as much as with BatchDPG. SUPER is also where I test my .dpg....as I don't have my flash cart yet.

So, what could be the problem I'm having with BatchDPG? Thanks for any info.

enarky

owls?
Trophies
XP
Country
Afghanistan
Most likely your AVI has AC3 sound, AFAIK BatchDPG can't decode that on its own. Here's a howto for that.

If you have MPlayer installed it's a lot easier, just use this commandline:
Code:
mplayer "[filename]" -af channels=2 -ao pcm:fast:file=stream.wav -vo null
where [filename] = your avi. I don't know if MPlayer is available for Windows, though.

mattymattness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the reply.

I converted the original movie to .avi myself so, when I do convert a movie to .avi....what type of audio should I choose in order for BatchDPG to handle it and convert it correctly into a .dpg?

Thanks.

mattymattness

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Ok, thanks for your help.

I have been using AutoGK for the conversion to .avi. Would it be possible to do what you are telling me to do with AutoGK or should I use something else to convert a DVD to .avi?

My normal routine is DVD > DVD Encrypter > AutoGK > BatchDPG.....but, I would get all the way to BatchDPG and lose the sound on the .dpg file.

Thanks, I would try to look on my own but, I'm at work right now.

enarky

owls?
Trophies
XP