connection error on mk8

Discussion in 'Wii U - Games & Content' started by TheDarkGreninja, Jan 1, 2015.

1. TheDarkGreninja
    OP

TheDarkGreninja How could you hate that face?

Aug 25, 2014
    On his bed
    hi im new to wii u and after playing mk8 and completing it i went to try out mk online which worked fine until i had to race with other people it stopped playing as all the other guys stopped miving and came witht the error without a code. Any solutions?

2. shinkodachi

shinkodachi On permanent leave

Dec 31, 2013
    Finland
    Could be that there was a problem on your end or the other players' end or the Mario Kart server. Nothing you can do about it most likely, so your best bet is to just try a new match. If the problems keep coming up, check your connection to see it's good. If you're on Wi-Fi then make sure it's not crowded, as other devices connected to the same Wi-Fi can affect your Wii U. If you're using a Wii LAN Adapter, then the problem likely isn't your fault.

That's the thing with online play... It either works, or it doesn't. Hope this helps! :)

3. TheDarkGreninja
    OP

Aug 25, 2014
    On his bed
    Thanks also another question, does port forwarding nintendo's game ports help at all?

4. shinkodachi

Dec 31, 2013
    Finland
    Port forwarding isn't necessary. Just in case you fall victim to a connection error again, check this page to see that Nintendo's servers are working: http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/network/en_na/network_status.jsp

5. TheDarkGreninja
    OP

Aug 25, 2014
    On his bed
    Seeing as the servers were working fine and trying against seems that the problem is unknown to me.

6. shinkodachi

Dec 31, 2013
    Finland
    Well, just to be 100% sure it's not your connection, here are the troubleshooting steps from Nintendo: http://en-americas-support.nintendo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13216/p/431