Connecting to the net

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by imbetterthanulol, Aug 2, 2009.

Aug 2, 2009

Connecting to the net by imbetterthanulol at 3:13 AM (1,376 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    When my DSi searches for an internet connection it finds nothing but I have wireless internet. This is because my internet is password protected I believe, is there any way to get around this?
     
  2. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    It could be that your router isn't set to broadcast a SSID. If it is, it should come up on your DS (whatever your network name is). If it's not, you can enter the info needed manually in the setup.

    Also, if it's using WPA/2 you won't be able to connect. The DS only supports WEP.
     
  3. Plague_Host_Extr

    Newcomer Plague_Host_Extr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Upon a seated throne of pure s
    Country:
    United States
    Goto the internet connections and click "Advanced connection". It'll bring up the WPA-1/2 scan. Screen for your router again. if it's still not on there, get onto your computer, type in your routers IP address (something like 192.168.1.1 or 92.168.0.1) and set it to broadcast SSID. And no, it isn't because it's password protected...
     
  4. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    How do I set it to broadcast SSID? If I connect to the net will it automatically update my firmware?
     
  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't the DSi support WPA?

    And It will not update your firmware. You have to tell your DSi to do that, it might ask to check but just click no.
     
  6. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I went to my IP address and it said page cannot be found...

    Can someone please give in depth instructions on how to do what plague is talking about inn Vista?
     
  7. Plague_Host_Extr

    Newcomer Plague_Host_Extr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Upon a seated throne of pure s
    Country:
    United States
    In depth:

    Goto your COMPUTER webbrowser and type in the ADDRESS BAR your routers IP ADDRESS.

    It'll come to a LOGIN SCREEN Asking for your USER NAME and PASSWORD.

    Type those in to LOG ONTO your ROUTER.

    Then it'll bring up the MAIN PAGE which'll most likely have the Broadcast SSID option on it.
     
  8. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I know I must seem like an idiot but I blame comcast =]
     
  9. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What you did was try to access your router via your WAN IP address (the one assigned by your ISP) therefore your router blocked it. You need to access it via its LAN IP address.

    Ok here we go.

    Look on the bottom of your router (that is usually where the information about how to get to the router settings is)
    Type the IP Address specified on the bottom of the router into a web browser and type enter.
    At this point it will usually ask for a username password, this is usually on the bottom of the router as well (usually "admin" "admin" or "admin" "password")
    This will take you to your router settings. If you cannot see a box to tick in this area about broadcasting your SSID try selecting wireless basic settings from along the left hand side.
    Tick the box saying "Broadcast SSID"
    Click apply.
    Restart your router.
     
  10. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    All working =]

    Thank you very much for all the help guys.
     
  11. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Check the WEP password encoding, I heard that it has to be hexadecimal or not hexadecimal for it to work.
     
  12. imbetterthanulol
    OP

    Newcomer imbetterthanulol Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I got it all figured out. So much work to play my DS.

    WTF is pictochat and why is it always empty? Just for people around you not internet folks?
     
  13. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, it's to be used with others in your general vicinity.

    I fail to see the fun however. I thought with the DSi they would allow chat with people over the internet but I was incorrect in assuming that.

    Damn you Nintendo.
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pictochat is a local chat service over the DS's wireless communication. Its rather pointless and nobody ever uses it.
     
  15. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    It's pretty fun if you are staying at someones house sleeping over there or playing a drawing game or just for the lulz
     
  16. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    they thought people will take the chance to sexually harass you using drawing you know..

    HEY! gave me an idea, if you girlfriend with a ds is just next door, then SOP will never be the same lol...
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Pictochat is also used quite a bit at conventions (anime or whatnot).
     

Share This Page