Connect a computer to a wireless router?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Prime, Dec 12, 2008.

Dec 12, 2008
  1. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    After building a computer in college we are allowed to take it home and keep it. The current family computer is in the spare room with the wireless router and the room hasn't got enough space for another computer I think I should put it in my own room. Now I cant use Ethernet because both rooms are a little bit away from each other so the only option is wireless.

    My question is what would I need to connect a spare computer to my wireless router?
     
  2. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    A wireless network card.
     
  3. KDH

    Member KDH GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Kansas
    Country:
    United States
    Just a wireless adapter. A PCI version would be best for a desktop/tower machine. You can get them pretty much anywhere.
     
  4. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you want the easy way. Buy one of those USB wireless network cards, once you plug it in and install it. It should be able to find your network.
    From there if the router is protected by WEP, then you just need to log in with admin settings and check the code.

    Other than that, there isn't much else to it.
     
  5. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So something like this?

    I picked that one because a few reviews says it works on Ubuntu which will be my OS for the new computer.
     
  6. KDH

    Member KDH GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Kansas
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that'll do fine.
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    And it's a Ralink chipset !

    that chipset allow you to use a custom wifi driver to send data to your Nintendo DS (Download Play, first rom loading method).
    It's not a feature used anymore, but if someone (Stephen, DS Wifi lib's author) make a DStunnel, it will be useful to play local wifi games over the net.


    Also, it allow you to use Ralink official driver, I find it better, or to use your card as an Access Point (useful for people without a wireless router)

    I have an usb modem, so I connect my DS and Wii with this AP driver and Wifi PCI card, because the official card's driver don't have AP mode.

    It's working nicely, and it's easy to configure [​IMG]

    Info on DS + Ralink
    Ralink Driver

    if you want to use ralink driver and your card is not recognize, let me know.
     
  8. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    wtf thats awesome
    what course are you doing? hope is same as mine *fingers crossed*

    like other said get a wireless adaptor or a wireless netowrk card
     
  9. Prime
    OP

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sweet. Thanks Tempers. I guess that will be the one I'll buy.

    NQ Digital Media.
     

Share This Page