Confirmed working DVD brands

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by KirovAir, Oct 21, 2008.

Oct 21, 2008

Confirmed working DVD brands by KirovAir at 4:08 PM (2,689 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. KirovAir
    OP

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    I've bought about 100 dvd-r's to get started but I don't get them to work with the backup loader(s)
    I'm getting ret=-4100 which points on bad burns, or something like that.

    I am using TDK dvd-r's. I've tried burning different iso's, different computers (with different burners) and different programs (imgburn, clonedvd, nero) at different speeds. (wasted about 12 dvd-r's).

    So I think it's the discs fault. Can someone post dvd brands that can be confirmed working with the backup loader?

    Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
    (If your brand is TDK. Please post your burning program and burn speeds etc.)
     


  2. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any DVD's (not tried TDK but tried other crappy PCline ones), Imgburn at 8x with a pioneer 112D burner seems to work.
     
  3. waninkoko

    Member waninkoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Salamanca, Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    If you get that error (-4100 in title identification) is because the data could not be read.
    Main reason is normally because disc is DVD+R without DVDROM booktype.
     
  4. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    well wanin got the -4100
    thread about media and burn speeds
     
  5. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use TDK DVD-r

    Nero burning rom at 8x(or 4 i cant remember lol) speed for my mario galaxy and it works fine.

    but LoZ:TP doesnt seem to work, i think it was burned at 4x and doesnt seem to be working, but i havent tried all options yet so i'll get back to you when i'm done.
     
  6. Cokecola3

    Newcomer Cokecola3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    you just have to set the booktype from your burner to dvd-rom, then it should work!
    just use google to find an Firmware for your Burner

    (sry for bad english)
     
  7. KirovAir
    OP

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I´m using dvd-r's and the burn seems to go all fine etc. (with verifiing)
    Both of my burners are LG's btw but I can't seem to modify (or even see) the booktype. (Probably because it are OEM versions, they came with DELL :/)
     
  8. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Don't laugh,

    But I use FujiFilm brand DVD-R's.

    They work like, 100% with all my games.
     
  9. brabomichel

    Newcomer brabomichel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    TDK -r dvd don't work by me ether

    vertabin -r are far away the best to use
     
  10. KirovAir
    OP

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ye, I just readed some posts and saw that TDK's are not OK. [​IMG]
    I'll order a new stack (verbatims) right away. [​IMG]
     
  11. kaion

    Newcomer kaion Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    no problems with
    HP dvd+r burn all at 16x

    total failure with
    playo dvd-r none loaded burned anywhere from 2x to 16x
     
  12. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Verbatim -Rs have worked great for me. +Rs not so much... Sam's Club usually has 100 pack of -Rs for cheap so if you are near one you should go there.
     
  13. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,925
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    So far my Wii reads everything [​IMG]

    - TDK DVD+R and -R
    - Philips DVD+R and -R
    - Verbatim DVD+R and -R
    - Unknown very cheap ebay bought DVD+ and -R
    - EMTEC DVD+R and -R
    - Aldi bought DVD+R
    - Spindel of 10 different DVD+RW

    No problem

    I burn at 6X in my Pioneer DVR-111L and at 4X in my BenQ DC DQ60
     
  14. Darkkenfox

    Newcomer Darkkenfox Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Florianópolis/Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I use TDK DVD-R (the gray one)
    I burned the image with IMGBURN at 4x speed... and worked fine [​IMG]
     
  15. Caderyn

    Newcomer Caderyn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using Memorex DVD-Rs (The only ones I have right now...) and it worked with Super Paper Mario (it didn't even crash or stall after the first cut-scene) and deBlob (although it's really choppy with the menus. Haven't got around to actually playing it yet). It did NOT work with Resident Evil 4 which I read is a really picky iso. I'm just going to get Verbatims because almost everyone says they work best.

    Also, the Memorex are 16x. I burned at 12x with SPM and deBlob. Tried all speeds (even tried DVD+R Lightscribe discs) with RE4 and no luck. Just sits at the black screen. I even used 3 unscramblers/backup-creators and 4 loaders...
     
  16. hughjass

    Member hughjass GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Poundland 'signalex' dvd+r work fine...

    ...what? [​IMG]
     
  17. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    like I said above, if your burner is good (pioneer 111/112D) then the media you use dosnt matter.

    All my wii games were on an assortment of cheap-ass dvd-r, all burned at 4x or 8x with imgburn & I dont think I had one bad burn.

    If you get a good burner it will save you time & discs in the future. [​IMG]
     
  18. hughjass

    Member hughjass GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    amen to that!

    been using cheap media on my chipped ps2 for yonks now, and it's still going fine, and everyone knows how crap the lasers in ps2s are.
     
  19. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DVD+R won't on mine but the DVD-R/RW work fine.
     
  20. darkangel5000

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    So far everything I've tried worked on my Wii
    - Verbatim DVD+R DL - 2.4x (dont know about Backuploader ._.)
    - Verbatim DVD-R - 12x
    - Omega DVD-R - 12x
    - Omega DVD-R (new ones) - 12x
    - Silver Circle DVD-R - 8x
    - Circle DVD-R - 8x
    - Platinum DVD-R - 8x

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page