Configurable USB Loader not starting up as it normally would

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by hyr00l, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. hyr00l
    OP

    Newcomer hyr00l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    So i'll cut to the chase
    I was using a harddrive to run my back ups and one day it fried, the worst thing that could happen.
    so after a few weeks I bought a new one, a 500 GB Toshiba.
    At first it worked fine, but now after about 3 days it's gotten to where it only works a little bit of the time, either hanging at the loader's boot picture or hanging while starting a game.
    Is there something I could of done wrong? I mostly salvaged the files from my old hard drive. And also, I saw a similiar problem and one of the answers said to defrag the drive. which did not work
    Help would be appreciated soon [​IMG]

    Oh, and the last thing I did before it started being funny was add a few games to it, and the only game it's hanged on is Kirby's Epic Yarn
    edit: also, the wii's disc tray light flashes
    edit2: I got it to work by unplugging the harddrive after i start loader, and then plugging it back in
     
  2. hyr00l
    OP

    Newcomer hyr00l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone?
    It's getting pretty annoying.
     
  3. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Are you loading it from the HBC or a forwarder? What happens if you delete a game and re-rip it with the retail disc?
     
  4. hyr00l
    OP

    Newcomer hyr00l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Forwarder. and nothing different happens
    Also I've realized my emulators don't recognize the HDD sometimes.
    I did it correctly, uses partion manager to fat32 it, everything.
    It hasto be something directing with the hard drive and/or usb port
     
  5. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Is Cfg on an SD card, and what happens when you use the HBC?
     
  6. hyr00l
    OP

    Newcomer hyr00l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it's on the SD card.
    It's actually working better now, I haven't really changed anything at all.
    But from time to time I have to unplug/plug it in and then it just boots.
    Also, the SNES emulator still dislike the new hard drive. I honestly thing it's all the harddrive, nothing else makes any sense.
    It's the only thing I've changed
    Also I updated CFG, and it isn't as faulty
     
  7. urubito

    Newcomer urubito Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Portugal

    hello,

    i think my problem is very similar to yours.

    I have a 500gb Toshiba Stor.e Art. When I start CFG or GX Loader with the HDD plugged in the wii the apps freezes at start up. The only way to bypass this is to plug the HDD to the system after running the loader, when the loaders are searching for devices.

    This is very annoying and weird. This happens always, it's not intermittent.

    Any help is very appreciated.
     
  8. hyr00l
    OP

    Newcomer hyr00l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I forgot about this topic!
    I've got it to work, Whenever it freezes just unplug/plug in the harddrive, give it about 30 seconds, and if it doesn't work try again.
    Sometimes it boots right up, and sometimes it takes 5 minutes. Good luck!
     
  9. huma_dawii

    Member huma_dawii GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Key Largo, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, i got a problem like this.. when i tried to run my WD USB 3.0 2TB the CFGUSB LOADER stucks on startup.. i have to go to "WiiXplorer" to open my HDD and the go to the CFG USB Loader in order to "detect" my HDD thru the CFG USB loader :(

    Extra Info:
    -WD 2TB USB 3.0 (with Y cable)
    -Fat 32 and 32 Cluster

    :/
     
  10. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Check and see what cios you have installed in the 249 slot.

    Some drives work better with certain cios.

    My drive works perfect with d2x v8 final. If i try any version above v8 the drive is undetectable.
     
    huma_dawii likes this.
  11. huma_dawii

    Member huma_dawii GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Key Largo, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks i'll try that! :D
     

Share This Page