Computer Issues!

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Ryukouki, Jun 28, 2009.

Jun 28, 2009

Computer Issues! by Ryukouki at 10:40 PM (1,372 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, I ran into a BIG ISSUE ON MY COMPUTER! Holy cow my family is flipping out! Well, every time my computer boots up, I get a message about Microsoft Config being changed, and every time I try to change it, I get a message, something like "Access Denied You must be logged on to an administrator account in order to make these changes." And then the change is applied, and it keeps asking me to reboot to "fix" these changes, and once I do the changes revert! What the hell! Here's the thing: All my family accounts are administrators. It's me, my dad, and my mom, and a guest account. Do you guys know how I can fix these changes, or become admin to fix this change?

    Current Status: The MSCONFIG message disappears, but whenever I boot up the computer, the BIOS screen appears, and it asks me if I want to boot in recovery mode or the XP Media Center Edition 2005 mode. What can I do to make it boot normally? I can click that function but it does not stay. I use a Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005. Don't forget that all of our accounts are admins so I dunno what to do. I checked it out and googled and all.

    shadowhunter
     


  2. Ducky

    Member Ducky QUACKJECTION!

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Duckling Land!
    Country:
    Israel
    Try loging in as
    User : Admin
    Password : Admin

    or Administrator for instance.

    besides from that google your problem..
     
  3. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    ugggh i kinda did and I heard something about McAfee being involved in it somehow and my acc is verified as admin n i cant even change. maybe some virus or malware took over my computer
     
  4. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    For msconfig if the problem happens again try going to start menu -> run and running msconfig from there. Once loaded make sure it's set to 'normal startup' under startup selection.

    You can also change the boot setting you are having in msconfig under the boot tab for your other problem. Either that right click 'My Computer' then advanced system settings (may be called something else under xp). Should be a section about startup and recovery, click the settings tab. In there should be a section about default OS to boot and the timeout on how long to display options.

    Going off memory here, so sorry if the instructions aren't very clear. Haven't run XP in some time now.
     
  5. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Its really not a big issue at all, nothing for your family to "freak out" about. Tell them to chill and stop being n00bs, seriously.

    And maybe its not going away because you arent logged into the admin account which originally made the change, try each account to see. Also there is an option to hide that message on startup, I cant remember where exactly but its pretty visible. But like I said, honestly, its nothing really.
     
  6. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use MALWARE ANTIBYTES and update it and scan and remove anything it finds for an extra measure also use Spybot Search and Destroy install it and update then scan and remove everything it finds! Also update your antivirus and give it a scan!


    make sure if you have messed with MSCONFIG you have not changed that under the boot.ini option you have not selected anything in the boot options boxes and look under the Startup tab and look for any suspicious entries and then click APPLY it will ask you if you wish to restart then choose to restart when it comes up with the MSCONFIG options box there will be a checkbox to DON'T SHOW this this message or launch next startup check the box and hit OK
     
  7. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    wow this is great! Well, i talked to them some more, and they seem to act like McAfee are a bunch of friggin saints who make the world a great place. I tried all that, currently running Malwarebyte's AMW program and waiting for the result. Oh p1ngpong, i told them that and they yelled at me cuz they act like i screwed up the comp. -____- and this selective mode works better its faster and shit which is what i did but they want NORMAL mode which makes it slower... and the BIOS screen when it boots up still appears. -.-

    they won't let me uninstall mcafee [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] anyone wanna be my savior and tell me if there is any way to disable mcafee on only my account and leave theirs untouched?
     
  8. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just uninstall it completely without their permission and tell them it's what's causing the problem in the first place because it's a piece of shit. 100% of internet users agree.
     
  9. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    i tried and my dad FLIPPED i was grounded and my comp locked holy shit! he made me reinstall and I had to watch my stuff be locked up like luggage... -..-
     
  10. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well tell your dad to fix it himself then [​IMG].
     
  11. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Then how you posting this?

    Tell him you don't help them with the problem if they don't want you to then.
    I know because I pretty much setup all 6 computers at my home, and I only use mine [​IMG]

    EDIT:
    Also sounds like the problem doesn't bother you, so don't let them bothering you about it bother you
     
  12. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    no that event was a few months ago. i got off recently.
     
  13. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    You could just boot into safe mode, login with the default administrator account and apply the msconfig changes from there.
     
  14. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, they're freaking out over that? Sounds a lot like my parents. :|

    If you're only left with that, your answer might be actually in msconfig. In the boot tab, you could probably delete the Recovery entry in the boot index.
     
  15. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    urrrgh my god now they freak over the BIOS thing and think all this random crap. I dunno how to make the BIOS black screen with gray text disappear, they said it was never like that.
     
  16. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Tell your parents to chill the fuck out.
     
  17. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly, go with something like "Even if it was never like that, its like that now."

    Stuff like this makes me glad that my parents dont' use computer, and my sister/cousins have thier own.

    Doesn't mean I don't screw thier's up every once in a while, but yeah.


    If they think you know enough about computers to fix everything then they should let you remove that antivirus too.
     
  18. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    They know I know alot about computers but they said if I touch McAfee i get screwed over... T_T
     
  19. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Then say they are questioning you're knowledge and they should hire someone or do it themselves or something.
     
  20. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    McAfee sucks not free and it screws with your internet connection my friend paid for this and couldnt even get on the net afterwards had to uninstall it and he lost his money on paying for this crud so he could have his internet back .... he now uses all freeware tools and no issues so far!

    If your getting a BIOS or POST SCREEN instead of it just booting to windows with a brand logo etc somethings been altered in the BIOS there will be an option to show/display BOOT LOGO or similar in the settings of BIOS all this does really is show a brand name or something instead of all the normal bootup sequence stuff eg DELL or whatever the brand your PC is or look for a setting that says FAST BOOT and enable it! [​IMG]

    If they are really that bothered ... then tell or maby advise them to take it to a specialist and not as you to sort it out!

    Computers go screwy all the time and most of the time its not the users fault but malicious software that has gotten on there and often without you knowing ... EVEN if you stick to safe sites stuff can still get through regardless of how you try to protect it they can still get through! ......

    (This advise is relevant for Windows based systems mostly! as Linux and Macs although can get issues with Virii its pretty rare! ....remember though they are NOT everyone's choice/liking here!)
     

Share This Page