Gaming compmgmt.msc help

JoshiYoshi64

Elite
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
216
Reaction score
7
Trophies
0
XP
517
Country
Australia
OK so I want to change the admin password and it says this:

If you click ok the following will occur:

This user account will immediately lose access to all of it's encrypted files, stored passwords and personal security certificates.

If you click cancel, the password will not be changed and no data loss will occur.


So I just wanted to know if it's safe to do.

Screenshot uploaded below.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (54).png
    Screenshot (54).png
    46.7 KB · Views: 506
It's referring mainly to this feature (which very few people I suspect actually use):

Capture.PNG

Since you probably never used that account, it's not going to be an issue - anyway, Administrator has no password by default, so you could simply enable it, log in, and set a password the proper way (control panel or ctrl+alt+del menu), which don't have those consequences
 
It's referring mainly to this feature (which very few people I suspect actually use):

View attachment 106808

Since you probably never used that account, it's not going to be an issue - anyway, Administrator has no password by default, so you could simply enable it, log in, and set a password the proper way (control panel or ctrl+alt+del menu), which don't have those consequences
How do I enable it?

And I found out administrator does have a password.

Is there an app for free that lets you make a password reset disk (usb)
 
How do I enable it?
It already is - there's no down-arrow icon on it (but from that very own windows, instead of right clicking > set password, you right click > properties)

And I found out administrator does have a password.
Too bad then, go ahead with your original plan :)

Is there an app for free that lets you make a password reset disk (usb)
It's built into windows - press ctrl+alt+del then select change password... but you must create it using the account you want to reset in the first place
 
It already is - there's no down-arrow icon on it (but from that very own windows, instead of right clicking > set password, you right click > properties)


Too bad then, go ahead with your original plan :)


It's built into windows - press ctrl+alt+del then select change password... but you must create it using the account you want to reset in the first place

My orginal plan said there would be data loss, is that a safe plan???
When I click ctrl+alt+del I only get two options on my account, sign out or switch user
 
My orginal plan said there would be data loss, is that a safe plan???
The data loss applies to the account victim of the forced password change, and only if they're using those encryption features (and even then backups could have been made)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum