comex released smashstack to the public!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Omega Knight, Aug 20, 2009.

Aug 20, 2009
  1. Omega Knight
    OP

    Member Omega Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    Comex just released smashstack, get it here, tutorial included.
     


  2. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool, thanks for sharing this info [​IMG]
     
  3. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    anyone care to media fire it as i do not wish to support GE.
     
  4. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    Wow... I thought for sure this would not be released until ninty fixed the bannerbomb exploit. Very nice. I'm sure the Europeans are going to be pissed it only works for North America.
     
  5. Omega Knight
    OP

    Member Omega Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    It's there with explicit permission from comex. So if he supports GE, why don't you? It's _his_ exploit.
     
  6. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Why doesn't it work on the EU version?
     
  7. Kwartel

    Member Kwartel The fairest in all the land

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,298
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Because it's a us save (doh)
     
  8. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doh, it's not a save.
     
  9. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get why this was released now (whilst bannerbomb is still functional), but it is nice to see an alternative method. Just hope Nintendo doesn't patch both of them now with an update.
     
  10. Omega Knight
    OP

    Member Omega Knight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    Because the NTSC-U and PAL/NTSC-J version of Brawl aren't the same, and this is made to work with the NTSC-U version. PAL/NTSC-J users might have to wait a bit longer.
     
  11. djda

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
    Heres the mediafire mirror with instructions

    REMOVED

    *edit

    Sorry my bad just did it upon request
     
  12. ds22

    Member ds22 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Rotterdam NL
    Country:
    Netherlands
    .....
     
  13. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
    ninty can hardly patch 1 exploit at a time, nevermind 2
     
  14. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Cool exploit, I hope there will be a release for the EU version too.
     
  15. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes very cewl [​IMG] but why? when nintendo has yet to patch bannerbomb??
     
  16. killplaystation

    Member killplaystation GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    467
    Country:
    United States
     
  17. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like this will be great helping chipped users with banner bricks, given that their chip can autoboot brawl-U.

    Good lookin out, comex [​IMG]
     
  18. wiiman123

    Member wiiman123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    New Zealand
  19. Sachka

    Member Sachka GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Location:
    Lumiose City
    Country:
    France
    I dont think they could patch this exploit [​IMG]
    How would they patch it? All exploit files are in SD not a save, not part of the system menu, It's all in your SD and your retail disc.
    They would have to make a DLC for brawl that patches SD usage or something, and thats very unlikely to happen

    Even with a system menu update that detects sd stuff and deletes exploit, It could be easily bypassed by just inserting sd after the game has boot XD

    Not to add a hard drive for games update/patches was a BIG mistake Mr. Iwata San [​IMG]
     
  20. s3phir0th115

    Member s3phir0th115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know why comex even announced that he found a bug in Brawl to start with while Bannerbomb was still functional. Thanks to him announcing it, Nintendo has now fixed this exploit in the current press of Brawl.

    I really don't see his logic here.
     

Share This Page