Cluster size

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by jelmew, Dec 3, 2010.

Dec 3, 2010

Cluster size by jelmew at 8:57 PM (3,860 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. jelmew
    OP

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi everyone.

    I have a 1 tb fat32 drive which I use for my wii. Now when I formatted it, I had set the cluster size to 64 kb. Now I wanted to make the drive primary and change the cluster size to 32 kb. However, EASEUs partition doesn't allow these options. Under the resize/move operation, the 64kb is grayed so it can't be changed and also making the drive primary can't be clicked. Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

    Greetings,
    Jelmew
     
  2. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IIRC Some OSs couldn't format drives that are higher than 32GB to FAT32. And also drives that are over 32GB are 32kB clusters anyway. How the hell did you get to 64kB? Try NTFS, yeah the highest it can do is 64kB but atleast it'll be right...or does it HAVE to be FAT32?
     
  3. jelmew
    OP

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I want it to be fat 32 with 32 kb cluster sizes to use with things like sneek. I used the default settings on EASEUS partition magic to get it to fat 32 without thinking about changing the cluster size. Could it be the size of the partition that is playing up here?
     
  4. sprogurt

    Member sprogurt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So le me get this straight a sec (I'm a bit confused ^.^). You've partitioned a drive and a partition you want to use is formatted as FAT32 with 64kB clusters?

    Seeing as FAT32 clusters should only go up to 32kB I'd backup and delete the data contained on the 64kB custers partition (if you can) then amalgamate the partitions together then partition them again but specify you want it as 32kB clusters.

    It even says on Microsofts official site that you can't get higher than 64kB clusters on FAT32...yeah now I'm even more confused XD. Most probably a formatting problem.
    Full article here.

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. jelmew
    OP

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've formatted my drive with EASEUS partition manager, making it fat32. This so the wii can read .wbfs. However, sneek only supports filesystems fat32 up to 32Kb cluster sizes. I found out mine was 64KB

    Microsoft windows only allows clusters up to 32kB. Custom software can go much higher. I've found a solution by shrinking the partition and making a second one which is 32KB cluster sizes and using that as the sneek-partition.
     

Share This Page