Hacking Clone Acekard2 from PriceAngels.com

Tim the Elite

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
So firstly, as the title states, a word of warning that PriceAngels.com are selling Acekard 2 clones that look like they are real ones. I received mine today and can tell its a clone by the fact that it wont load games from AKAIO 1.6. So beware!

Another note: I thought the clones were meant to work with AKAIO 1.5... my one can boot games from AKAIO 1.5 but all games freeze either in the first menu of the game of when it tries to save. I'm thinking this may be because I'm using an cheap no-name MicroSD?

Before I get scolded by pros, I will have you all know that I have ordered an Acekard 2i from Gamekool.com (which I hope doesn't turn out to be a clone) and I have also ordered a Japan Kingston MicroSD card. So hopefully that makes up for my previous gaming incompetence.

Comments appreciated.
 

penthaler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Location
mystique
XP
67
Country
Only bad batch... wait for fix (oficial acekard system) and next time use search, because this problem had many (many, many, many) users before you and they made almost the same thread...

Until rls of fixed fw, download and use ACEKARD system 4.07a15
 

figster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
I recieved my acekard2i from price angels today and it works fine with AKAIO 1.6.
I had to flash the cart to work with my DSi 1.4 firmware, but after that it works perfectly.
 

penthaler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
357
Trophies
0
Location
mystique
XP
67
Country
AK2 cannot be fixed with 1.4fix... Only AK2i
biggrin.gif
 

CannonFoddr

Regular GBATemp Lurker
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
4,134
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Sitting by computer
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,077
Country
Hmm - seem like PriceAngel has removed acekard from their site

Tim the Elite:You also say acekard is a clone but is your card a acekard 2.1 or a 2i ??
If a 2.1 - there's been a bad batch of them & you may be unlucky to get one

Any idea what the HW code is on your card ??
If you can't get AKAIO 1.6 working - try an older version or Acekard own offical firmware
 

Tim the Elite

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
It's an Acekard 2.1. I just assumed it was a clone because I read somewhere that if an Acekard gets stuck on the green game loading screen in 1.6 then it has to be a clone.

As for the 'HW Code', I have no idea what that is.

Is it safe to assume that the Acekard 2i that I ordered from Gamekool.com will be genuine?
 

XFelixX

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
USA
XP
83
Country
United States
just go for the AK2i. it works on the DS/DSL too. it's what I did after i got my 'bad batch 2.1'
 

Tim the Elite

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
Yeah XFelixX, I have one being shipped to me right now
smile.gif


Also thanks to penthaler, my games are now working with the older firmware. So thanks.
smile.gif
 

Tim the Elite

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
34
Trophies
0
XP
63
Country
In terms of 'safeness', my experience was good with PriceAngels. Prices were cheap. Delivery was quick. I only had two problems with them.

1. From the time I ordered until now, I haven't received a single email from PriceAngels, no receipt, no nothing. I can't even log onto their site as a customer. That being said, the items still arrived in the post quickly.
2. The Acekard 2.1 I received is either a clone or from a bad batch.

I guess if you were going to buy an Acekard 2i, PriceAngels would be fine, as someone previously said they had ordered an Acekard 2i and it is working fine.
 

figster

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
CannonFoddr said:
Hmm - seem like PriceAngel has removed acekard from their site

Tim the Elite:You also say acekard is a clone but is your card a acekard 2.1 or a 2i ??
If a 2.1 - there's been a bad batch of them & you may be unlucky to get one

Any idea what the HW code is on your card ??
If you can't get AKAIO 1.6 working - try an older version or Acekard own offical firmware

This is the link I bought mine from, it works great and they're still on the site.
http://www.priceangels.com/AceKard_2i_AK2i...ion__p1531.html
 

Toader

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
210
Trophies
0
Location
Mushroom Kingdom
Website
Visit site
XP
142
Country
United States
Tim the Elite said:
In terms of 'safeness', my experience was good with PriceAngels. Prices were cheap. Delivery was quick. I only had two problems with them.

1. From the time I ordered until now, I haven't received a single email from PriceAngels, no receipt, no nothing. I can't even log onto their site as a customer. That being said, the items still arrived in the post quickly.
2. The Acekard 2.1 I received is either a clone or from a bad batch.

I guess if you were going to buy an Acekard 2i, PriceAngels would be fine, as someone previously said they had ordered an Acekard 2i and it is working fine.

Alright thanks. I'll probably test it by buying something cheap and see how it goes.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Lol AHS is getting funny two dudes and two girls get pregnant
    Gift
  • Toastee_ @ Toastee_:
    Whats AHS?
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    What are you supposed to do when you have a thousand dollar piece of hardware that won't work because the API the manufacturer provided doesn't want to work?
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Ebay
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh great.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It's a Linux bug.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Well a bug with their Linux drivers or something.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    It captures 2x the amount of packets on Windows 10 in a freaking VM where USB access is slower/more latent.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what is this piece of hardware @gudenau
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Beagle 480
    Gift
  • T-hug @ T-hug:
    Dune 2021 1080p HDRip X264 AC3-EVO
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Dune? Reminds me of seeing my ex naked
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Oh yeah Dune movie is out, watching it later
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Here is hoping 2022 is a good year for DC cinematic universe
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Honestly don't really know what Dune is.
    Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Anyone here know much about Jetbrains InteliJ Idea?
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Oh, T-hug was here :blink:
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Hey, where the admins at? Come in the chat. I got a idea. How bout a Sound notification or something when someone tags you in chat? :ninja:
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Post it in the v8 feedback thread
    Gift
  • Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Post what sorry? I'm guessing we were talking about this ages ago, but I haven't been on GBATemp in almost a year so my memory is failing me :-/
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    feedback and or bugs that may have popped up since the migration to XenForo 2!
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Umm...I think you might have the wrong person, since that may as well have been written in Chinese. I have nothing to do with the management of this site, nor have I ever been involved. I'm just a member, and hardly even qualify as that...like I said my last post was almost a year ago lol
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    Lol no, Sonic Angel Knight had an idea, best would be to post it in that thread haha
    Gift
  • OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983:
    Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...
    Gift
    OzKenny1983 @ OzKenny1983: Sorry, don't know Sonic Angel Knight either...