cIOSX rev 19 black screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by disguy05, Apr 22, 2010.

Apr 22, 2010

cIOSX rev 19 black screen by disguy05 at 12:25 AM (2,655 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I've been searching and I can't find an answer but when I try to run cIOSX rev 19 the screen just stays black. I've tried downloading from different sources and same result. Another one i found would load up to 93% and just freeze. I've been using links that have been posted on this site, so I'm not sure what the problem is when everyone else seems to have them working. I currently have r14 installed.
     


  2. gameking66

    Member gameking66 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Country:
    United States
    How are you running r19 if you have r14 installed?
     
  3. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I meant i'm trying to run the cIOSx rev 19 installer. The files I get either load to a black screen or load to 93% and freeze.
     
  4. gameking66

    Member gameking66 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Country:
    United States
    Redownload the installer. If it's freezing before you even load it it's probably a HBC corruption or the app. Are you streaming it over network?
     
  5. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not streaming it, I was going to do offline installation and I have the necessary wad files. I've redownloaded the installer 10+ times and it still just loads and gives me a black screen. Do I need something else installed before running the installer or something?
     
  6. JavelinD

    Newcomer JavelinD Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    i dont even know how to run the installer q_q
     
  7. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
     
  8. JavelinD

    Newcomer JavelinD Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    been tryin to figure out how lol dunno how to run it... do i use WAD manager or what?
     
  9. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to run the installer as the wii boots? I remember I had this same problem trying to install r14 and it would just be a black screen but using a tutorial to do an offline upgrade to 4.2, I was able to run the installer because it booted up when the wii turned on.
     
  10. Lee Zappetta

    Newcomer Lee Zappetta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you rename "installer.dol" "boot.dol"?

    It needs to be renamed before it'll work.

    Lee
     
  11. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    yes i renamed it boot.dol
     
  12. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    any other help?
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    What IOS is your HBC running?

    to answer this Q, start the HBC, hit the home button, and read the IOS in the top right corner
     
  14. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    IOS 61v21.29
     
  15. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, IOS61 sounds good, I'm assuming your HBC is at v1.06 (the latest version)?
     
  16. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    yea 1.0.6
     
  17. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    try bannerbombing the installer (ie. save the cios installer's boot.dol to the root of the sd card, rename any other boot.dol's or boot.elf's in the root to anything else.) Then launch bannerbomb, if the installer launches fine... then there's an issue with your HBC (maybe try updating your IOS61, I'm not sure if its at the most recent version off the top of my head)
     
  18. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    tried bannerbombing, still a black screen
     
  19. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    r u using the right version of bannerbomb for your system menu? Are u accessing it properly?

    (what I am really asking is, whats your firmware, what version of bannerbomb do u have, and how are u accessing it)
     
  20. disguy05
    OP

    Newcomer disguy05 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    i have 4.2U and i used bannerbomb through the sdcard menu. Is there no hope for me =/

    EDIT: Im not sure how to check which version of bannerbomb I have but it shows up as a black/green background w/ bannerbomb in text in the sd card menu.
     

Share This Page