Hacking CIOSCORP For Dummies?

TiMeBoMb4u2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,550
Trophies
0
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,197
Country
United States
Okay... I guess I've been living under a rock for a while now, and for my sake, could someone please give me the "...For Dummies" explanation of a few things?
Q: What is CIOSCORP?
A: CIOSCORP is a replacement for the IOS's that the Wii uses, including DIP7... meaning every IOS becomes a cIOS.

Q: What does CIOSCORP do?
A: CIOSCORP lets you play backups from the Disc Channel, as you would play original games, but without a modchip.

Q: What are the requirements for CIOSCORP?
A: ???

Q: Where can I get CIOSCORP?
A: Some fancy Google searches will probably find you what you need. Alternatively, you could ask around. Someone will probably send it to you.

Q: What are the risks of installing CIOSCORP?
A: CIOSCORP replaces ALL IOS's (including the System Menu) on your Wii. If you have a power failure during the install, your Wii will become "bricked"!
Q: If my Wii becomes "bricked", how can I "unbrick" it?
A: ???
Q: Can CIOSCORP be uninstalled?
A: Yes; you will need to re-install the original IOS's.

Q: How can I backup my original IOS's?
A: ???

Q: How do I install CIOSCORP?
A: To install CIOSCORP, you will either need the CIOSCORP Installer, or you will need to manually install every cIOS with WAD Manager.
Q: If I'm installing CIOSCORP using the CIOSCORP Installer, what is the step-by-step process?
A: ???

Q: If I'm installing CIOSCORP using the WAD Manager, what is the step-by-step process?
A: ???
Once I get some clear and precise answers, I'll edit this post accordingly.


Thanks!
rolleyes.gif

TiMeBoMb4u2
 

CIJC

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
463
Trophies
0
XP
132
Country
Q: What is CIOSCORP?
A: A replacement for the IOS's that the wii uses, including DIP7... meaning every IOS is a cIOS.

Q: What does CIOSCORP do?
A: Allows backup booting from the disk channel.

Q: Where can I get CIOSCORP?
A: Ask around, people will pm you it.

Q: What are the risks of installing CIOSCORP?
A: it replaces ALL IOS's (including system menu) on your wii. if you have a blackout during install. say bye bye wii
biggrin.gif


Q: Can CIOSCORP be uninstalled?
A: yes. re-install the original IOS's

Q: How do you install CIOSCORP?
A: with either a CIOSCORP installer, or manually install every IOS with WADManager.


!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Q: What are the requirements for CIOSCORP?
A: System Menu 3.2 - with cIOS36 rev7 installed

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Q: If my Wii becomes "bricked", how can I "unbrick" it?
A: Short Answer: You cant. Long Answer: Some methods have worked, but most fail... you should ask people like IRONMASK (who has bricked and recovered 3 times)

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Q: How can I backup my original IOS's?
A: a NAND dump will provide you with a great backup of important things
smile.gif


!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Q: If I'm installing CIOSCORP using the CIOSCORP Installer, what is the step-by-step process?
A:
1 - Get the CIOSCORP package.
2 - Follow the instructions given by the site you got it from.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Q: If I'm installing CIOSCORP using the WAD Manager, what is the step-by-step process?
A:
1 - Get the CIOSCORP package.
2 - Place all IOS wads into the WAD directory on the root of your sd card.
3 - Open WAD Manager.
4 - Install the IOS WADS in any order (preferably IOS33 first) and you are done.

If you get any errors when installing an IOS, DO NOT exit Wad Manager - just attempt to re-install that IOS.

If you keep getting errors when trying to install the failed IOS (still DO NOT exit Wad Manager ) - run to the computer, log on to GBATemp, and PM someone who has a copy of the IOS you need. then install it - tadah
smile.gif
 

bdr9

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
558
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
278
Country
United States
Q: What is CIOSCORP?
A: CIOSCORP is a pack of wad files that you can install with WAD Manager

Q: What does CIOSCORP do?
A: CIOSCORP lets you play backups from the Disc Channel, as you would play original games, but without a modchip.

Q: Where can I get CIOSCORP?
A: I can't tell you where to get it, but the link is floating around the net now.

Q: What are the risks of installing CIOSCORP?
A: The only one that I can think of is if you lose power or something while your wii is installing the one that is IOS30.

Q: Can CIOSCORP be uninstalled?
A: Yes, but there is no official method. You kind of need to get all of the wad files for all of the IOSes that you replaced and reinstall them.

Q: How do you install CIOSCORP?
A: Just put all of the files in the wad folder on your card and then use the program 'wad manager' to install every one.

AND I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING YOU DO WITH THESE INSTRUCTIONS
 

zeldafn333

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Location
Massachusetts B)
XP
52
Country
United States
There really aren't any requirements for CIOSCORP except I guess wad manager or multi cios installer.
Plus you'd want to have starfall/preloader.

And can we come up with like an acronym or something for CIOSCORP?
Im getting tired of typing it all the time, all caps or cIOSCORP or w.e....
 

TiMeBoMb4u2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,550
Trophies
0
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,197
Country
United States
zeldafn333 said:
There really aren't any requirements for CIOSCORP except I guess wad manager or multi cios installer.
Plus you'd want to have starfall/preloader.

And can we come up with like an acronym or something for CIOSCORP?
Im getting tired of typing it all the time, all caps or cIOSCORP or w.e....
I guess I'm referring to... Will this install with System Menu 3.4? What if I do not have HBC installed?

These are things that a "dummy" may not know. I'm just looking for someone to explain it better!


=)
 

richglix

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
548
Country
United States
Q: How can I backup my original IOS's?

I was told, cryptically, that you can use FTPii to get these files. I'm not sure of the process however.
 

TiMeBoMb4u2

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,550
Trophies
0
Location
Hyrule
XP
1,197
Country
United States
Beatchu said:
Doesn't CIOSCORP come with original IOSes

The one I was sent did
I didn't get the original IOS's.
All I have is: 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 20, 21, 22, 28, 30, 31, 33, 34, 35, 36, BugFix-37, BugFix-38, BugFix-53, BugFix-55


blink.gif
 

NeoNight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
186
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
So do games that required patching (Medal of honor hero's 2 for example) work is CIOSCORP? also can someone pm me all the stuff need to install/uninstall it.
 

AsosaYoung

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
0
Location
L B C
XP
52
Country
United States
You will still have IOS249 so your patch games will still load this will just make all or mostly all 98% work from the Disc channel.
SoftMii is a complete pack of tools to give you this with free region and BRICK protection. There is a tread on here.
Check it out!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Doctor-Masu @ Doctor-Masu: ahjjj