cIOS36 rev10 Freezes...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by D.J.W., Aug 8, 2009.

Aug 8, 2009

cIOS36 rev10 Freezes... by D.J.W. at 4:37 AM (3,454 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. D.J.W.
    OP

    Newcomer D.J.W. Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Country:
    United States
    Yesterday I got a brand new Wii console from the store. I have some experience with Wii modding. Its an LU39 serial number with 4.0u, and I added the homebrew channel to the new Wii with bannerbomb, but I get an error -2011 when I try to install .wads. So I followed THIS guide to fix it. if I tried to launch Patchmii, it would freeze. Then, I found THIS guide which seems to be a workaround for the IOS35 thing. So I go through this whole guide up to the part where you open the "cIOS36 rev 10 installer.dol" and it just freezes on the black screen before anything comes up. Please help, Thanks.
     
  2. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    You could try a different cios.That guide is outdated and misinformed.

    The latest is ciosrev14.

    You could also try doing a network install instead of wad install.

    Things i noticed missing from the guide.(The second guide you used)

    Step 9 Its missing the part about restoring ios15 after you used it to downgrade ios36.

    Step 10 It says Run cIOS36_rev10-Installer and choose WAD Installation.

    Thats fine and dandy but it doesnt tell you which ios to use.
    You need to use ios36.It will then install ios249 for you which you need later.
     
  3. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS36 rev10 is sooo good though. Likely won't update to 14.
     
  4. D.J.W.
    OP

    Newcomer D.J.W. Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Country:
    United States
    when u say cios rev14 are you talking about the cios38 rev 14? Sorry, still a little noobish, thanks.
     
  5. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Yes
     
  6. D.J.W.
    OP

    Newcomer D.J.W. Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Country:
    United States
    Would I have to choose IOS38 as IOS36 in the Trucha Bug Restorer then? Or would it still work under 36?
     
  7. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Start TBR and select ios36
    Start the application
    Choose Downgrade ios15
    Download IOS from NUS
    Allow TBR to downgrade ios15
    Exit TBR when install is done.


    Start TBR again


    Select which ios to use select IOS15
    IOS36 Menu
    Should look like this or make it look like this
    install ios to slot 36
    patch has check(trucha) YES
    patch ES_identify YES
    patch nand permission YES

    Highlight install ios to slot 36 hit A to start it
    Download IOS from NUS
    install patches ios36 now
    Press A to start install
    Exit TBR when done with install.


    Start TBR again


    Select which ios to use IOS36
    Restore IOS15
    Download ios from NUS
    Press a to start install.
    Exit TBR when done with install.


    Then when you run the cios installer(whatever revision you choose 10,12,13,14) choose ios36 when it asks which one to use.



    Posts merged

    If that doesn't make any sense to you then watch a video of it.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltrd3oq8hPc
     
  8. D.J.W.
    OP

    Newcomer D.J.W. Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much!!! I spent the last 2 days trying to figure out what the problem was!!! Thank you!
     
  9. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Glad i could help.

    Most of the guides now a days are totally outdated and contain a lot of steps that aren't needed anymore.

    Simplest way to hack any wii now.Even brand new ones is

    Get bannerbomb and hackmii installer.

    Use bannerbomb to install HBC.

    Run Trucha Bug Restorer

    Install ciosRev14(Of whatever one you prefer)

    Thats it.Then of course whatever backup loaders you plan on using.
     

Share This Page