1. HaloEffect17

    OP HaloEffect17 Hiya!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Country:
    Canada
    So, I recently took my SD card out of my Wii U to put some files on it and then slipped it back inside the Wii U. I have CBHC installed v1.6 that had been working with a 90% success rate upon boot without freezing. I booted up the console and it hangs on a black screen with a little '-3' in the top left hand corner. After waiting quite awhile at this screen, I powered off the Wii U and powered it back on. It worked and sent me to the system menu.

    However, when I tried powering it on again after my play session, I got stuck on the '-3' screen again. After three tries of rebooting the console, it now does not progress to the system menu. What does '-3' mean, and does this mean my SD card or CBHC has somehow corrupted? I have tried researching this '-3' online, but there doesn't seem to be any documentation on it. I should note that when I put my SD card back into my computer, Windows reported that I ought to scan the card and check for errors. I let Windows do its thing and it returned with no errors on the card.

    What should I do? Thanks in advance, guys.
     
    Last edited by HaloEffect17, Jul 2, 2017
  2. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    13,974
    Country:
    Canada
    Error -3 means it failed to mount the SD card, Make sure it isn't locked, dirty, or corrupted.
     
    HaloEffect17 likes this.
  3. HaloEffect17

    OP HaloEffect17 Hiya!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, thanks. Would you suggest I back up the SD and reformat it? Or, maybe a chkdsk for bad sectors?
     
  4. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    13,974
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried to just reinsert it again first? :P

    If that didn't help, maybe back it up and reformat it, yeah.
    Maybe contacts could be worn out too.
     
  5. HaloEffect17

    OP HaloEffect17 Hiya!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, for sure, I've already tried reinserting several times now, and it doesn't work more often than it does. I guess if it gets unbearable, I'll try a reformat. SD card looks physically clean though as well as the Wii U card slot.
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    If -3/-4 appears, press Home button. CBHC shouldn't do this as it isn't connected to SDCard in any way.
     
  7. C0mm4nd_

    C0mm4nd_ Aspirant Wii U homebrew dev :P
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    697
    Country:
    Italy
    if you use other options than sysmenu (like ugh.... bleah... loading mocha)
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  8. HaloEffect17

    OP HaloEffect17 Hiya!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Country:
    Canada
    May I ask what does pressing the Home button do exactly?
     
  9. Reecey

    Reecey Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,859
    Country:
    Brings you into the cbhc menu? if you didn't know that then how do you know its not even working! try it you might be surprised a menu might pop up with options, just hold the home button down when you boot your wiiu up. I think whats happened is, its loading up the homebrew launcher as autobooting and its not working alongside your sd card properly. Usually you get an error like that with the homebrew launcher!
     
    Last edited by Reecey, Jul 3, 2017
    HaloEffect17 likes this.
  10. HaloEffect17

    OP HaloEffect17 Hiya!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh yes, I forgot about the Home button does that. I remember we could access CBHC's menu via a press of the sync button as it is autobooting, but forgot you could the through the Home button. Thanks.
     
  11. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,473
    Country:
    United States
    CBHC only uses SD card if you set it to autoboot to something other than system menu (HaxChi CFW). If you have your autoboot set to something that needs the SD card and you're not getting 100% then your SD blows. CBHC is designed to autoboot HaxChi CFW. You should always get 100% boot with CBHC.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Starting, Error,