1. DarkFlare69

    OP DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,145
    Country:
    United States
    I'm thinking about buying this:
    http://ebay.com/itm/151457255191

    Unfortunately, it comes with a chinese power cord and I live in the USA. The power supply is a DC5V, 2A, according to item description. Can someone link me to a USA version of this, or would a converter work too?
     
  2. GreatCrippler

    GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Country:
    United States
    As long as the cord plugs in your fine. The box on the plug does the converting.
     
  3. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,348
    Country:
    If the transformer accepts 110v then it should work with just a 2pin adaptor.

    If however it doesn't then you would need to buy a transformer which has the relavent output connector/power supply (5V 2A), It shouldn't need to be a specialist one but I'd suggest buying from somewhere which allows you to try it out first to see if it fits.

    You might also get away with splicing the connector with a USB cable or other compatible transformer, but I can't comment on whether that would work as I've never tried it before.
     
  4. DarkFlare69

    OP DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,145
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but it doesn't plug in. It's a chinese plug.
     
  5. GreatCrippler

    GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you're seeing something that I am not, it will. Chinese specific power cords have an odd 3 prong look. That looks like a standard DC.
     
  6. DarkFlare69

    OP DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,145
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. GreatCrippler

    GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,544
    Country:
    United States
    Odd, fair enough... I would imagine the easiest thing would be to go to an electronics store with it (Radio shack, whatever) and have them match up something with the same volts and amps. There are tons of universals out there, but I would try and match it specifically.

    I just checked.... Best Buy has a bunch of universals in the $10-$20 range.
     
    Last edited by GreatCrippler, Dec 12, 2015
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Capture, supply, power