Can't run Scandisk (XP)

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by GeekyGuy, Jul 19, 2009.

Jul 19, 2009

Can't run Scandisk (XP) by GeekyGuy at 3:10 PM (820 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    It's been a few weeks since I've done a scan, and last night when I went to plug my 360 controller into one of my front USB ports, my computer restarted on its own. When it came back up, it said Windows had restored from a serious error. I tried to run Scandisk at this point (using the method I always have in the past -- selecting Properties on the drive, Tools, Scandisk, and checking both options), but it said it couldn't run Scandisk. I'm not sure if the reason is related to the "serious error" that occurred, but I sure don't want to lose my ability to do periodical scans. I scanned for viruses/malware last night, using both McAfee and Malwarebytes, but neither program detected anything. Not sure how to proceed at this point.
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Try using:

    START > Run > "cmd"

    A command prompt will open. Write "chkdsk" in there, press enter and see what happens [​IMG]
     
  3. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, man. I'm guessing it just ran the scan through the command window. It said it found problems with the file system; run CHKDSK with the /F option to correct these. What does that entail exactly? [​IMG]
     
  4. overslept

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    If you still have your Windows XP installation disc, you can use the recovery console that comes loaded on the CD to run ChkDsk, Scandisk, or whatever the hell you can do with RC
     
  5. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    My computer didn't come with a Windows disk. The deal with that was they allow you to make one copy of everything, which at the time I had to back-up onto something like 15 CDs because the computer came stock with just a CDR -- no DVDR. I wouldn't even know where to begin as far as utilizing what's there. I was able to scan, and though I also was able to use CHKDSK in /F, when I restarted my computer, it didn't seem to run Scandisk.
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Do the same procedure, except this time write

    chkdsk /F

    and press Enter. It'll probably say that the drive is busy or something. Type "Y" and press enter. It'll ask you to reboot, do it and it should run on the next startup [​IMG]
     
  7. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I tried it twice already, actually, and no luck. I even tried typing it as "chkdsk c: /f/r" but it still just boots Windows right back up without a scan or disk repair.
     

Share This Page