Can't play minecraft

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by R4Liam, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011

Can't play minecraft by R4Liam at 9:37 PM (6,214 Views / 0 Likes) 57 replies

  1. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay i'm gonna tell the truth cause that's how you guys can fully help me. Here's my problem:

    I could play minecraft on windows xp perfectly using the exact same hardware as i currently own (same computer and everything)

    One day i decided i wanted to install windows 7 for free. I installed it and it ran (seemingly) perfect. I started to notice a few problems down the line:

    1. I can't enable the aero themes
    2. I can't play minecraft! [​IMG] thay bad driver message comes up saying update driver

    so i try to update the driver form the nvidia site (that is my driver) and it won't let me, i look and my driver properties and it just shows up as Standard VGA graphics adapter when it is actually an nvidia adapter that ran fine on xp.

    how do i configure this nvidia driver so that it runs as it did in xp, making minecraft work and maybe the aero problem because im sure they are both connected to the same problem.

    i have also tried adjusting the hardware acceleration too with no success [​IMG]

    thanks in adanced and i hope you can help!
     


  2. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you try downloading and installing the newest drivers from nvidias website?
     
  3. Bunie

    Member Bunie #1 Princess

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Pleasureville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    You must go to nvidia.com and install the video driver. I also suggest you run Windows Update, usually it installs drivers and driver updates for you.
     
  4. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah and it didn't work
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    your card most likely has no windows 7 drivers
    MS is providing a basic video card driver for it
     
  6. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so will jumping straight from xp to windows seven not effect it at all?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which computer?
    What video card?
     
  8. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i know this might sound nooby but how do i get those specs up on the screen?
     
  9. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    okay i found the problem, when i tried to install the latest update for my driver it came up with this message:

    setup detected that the operating system in use is not windows vista [64 bit] this setup program and its asociated drivers are designed to run only on windows vista [64 bit]

    so where do i go from here? [​IMG] is there a way to run windows vista on windows seven?
     
  10. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is your OS 64bit?

    Vista drivers normally work on Windows 7..
     
  11. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it's 32 bit and it doesn't work and i still don't understand why it is a vista driver because i had it on xp not vista, i have never owned a vista os
     
  12. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe it is the fault of the 'free' (i guess downloaded) version of yours.
    Try buying Windows 7.
     
  13. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no it's definately the driver i looked in my computer and c drive and under nvidia it has folders for xp, vista but none for windows 7
     
  14. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then you should use Vista.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  16. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks but do you know a way of know the exact driver to update? cause there are severy search criteria which i dont know of about my driver, i think it is series 8 but other than that...
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Just pick geforce, series 8, any 8 card, and vista 32-bit.

    EDIT: The drivers are "grouped", so the same installer will install for many different video card models. Thank god.
     
  18. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Like Rydian said above most of Nvidia's drivers are grouped into one installer. This installer supports just about all their Geforce GPUs from the 6xxx series up til the newest GPUs they've released.

    Only possible exception would be certain OEM laptop GPU models which could require slightly modified drivers (in which case LaptopVideo2Go would be the best choice to find said modified laptop drivers).
     
  19. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    well my game crashes i have nvidia card and it seem related
     
  20. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What kind of crash?
    Do you mean your car crashes in your game?
     

Share This Page