Hacking Question Can't boot OFW/CFW no backup...

exodusrage

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey everyone, I screwed up big. I am new to switch, I updated to 7.0.1 but the nsp's would work and after 4-5 hours of tinkering I gave up and tried to downgrade to 6.2. It seemed to go ok but after rebooting I got a splash of atmosphere then nintendo logo...then blank.

So I tried reinx and that splashed, then goes to the Nintendo -> Nintendo switch logo -> error screen with 2162-0002.

So Now I have a shiny new paperweight.. I did have a backup but I accidentally deleted..yea..stupid.

Anything I can do at this point?

FanboyKilla

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Damn dude! You deleted your NAND backup? :wacko:

It sounds like you had a LOT going on all at once. I would suggest wiping your SD Card (or use a spare one) and starting fresh. Download the latest release of Kosmos and drop those on your SD Card. Then inject the hekate payload to boot into hekate, select CFW from the Launch menu, and report back what happens.

Kubas_inko

"Something funny goes here."
Trophies
XP
Country
Czech Republic
1. Nsps wouldn't work because you were missing sigpatches.
2 . Start from scratch with cfw.
3. Try recovery mode (hold volume up and down while booting; you have to boot through hekate and to stock preferably) and update.
4. Try recovery mode and factory reset/format/initialize the console.
5 . Rebuild your NAND.

Last edited by Kubas_inko,

Le_Zouave

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
France
when downgrading, you need to wipe data. If you updated to 7.0.1 without RCM, it burned fuse and you can't boot with FW 6 on your switch without RCM. Even if you updated with RCM, it only need one time booting without RCM to burn fuse.
Most CFW will ignore firmware fuse, but a downgrading still need a complete wipe.

Kubas_inko

Trophies
XP
Country
Czech Republic